Broccoli Quiche with Mashed Potato Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carissa Hubbard
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I made some small tweaks. I added chopped turkey bacon. I misread the ingredients and added the entire cup of milk to my potatoes but my husband loved it. I also used 4 eggs and will probably use 5 next time. I did not use the nutmeg and I used adobo with garlic powder instead. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carissa Hubbard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I actually changed quite a bit, so I used this recipe as a base. For crust I sprinkled shredded cheddar on bottom of 10 inch glass pie dish. (The oils from cheese made it so it did not stick) I then mixed leftover mash potatoes from Thanksgiving with a some Italian bread crumbs & a teaspoon of flour (though I'm not sure if flour was needed). I then pressed the mixture on top of cheese to form crust and sprinkled again with crumbs. Baked for 15 minutes, then sprinkled more cheese on top. Baked another (maybe) 10 minutes which lead me to a nice crust to work with. (The cheese helped encase the potatoes to make a pretty solid crust that wasn't mushy like some comments have stated.) I then cooked zesty sausage in one pan, sauteed spinach, mushrooms, peppers, garlic, green onion etc. in another and transferred sausage and veggies to crust. Whisked 4 eggs w/ milk (I eyeball my recipes) and pepper, baked for 15 minutes then sprinkled just a bit more cheese on top (I love cheese) and baked 15 minutes more. I let it cool a bit, as the eggs are still cooking even out of the oven. It set up wonderful and my boyfriend really liked it. I know I changed a lot, but I only gave three stars because my first crust attempt like the recipe says didn't fair well. But without this recipe I wouldn't have known where to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I used my leftover mashed potatos added 2 T of flour with 1 egg and baked 30 minutes. Used 4 eggs and fried some bacon and used grease to sauté my onion and veggies and then cooked for only 20 minutes and presto turned out delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I made this with cauliflower instead of broccoli, and 1 bunch of kale. I didn't pre-set the potato crust in the oven for 30 min because I forgot. So, the potato crust is mushy, which is fine since it mixes with the filling and tastes really good. I sauteed turkey bacon in butter which I added to the filling. I also sauteed chopped red onion in butter which I also added to the mixture. I omitted the cheese. I added in chicken flavor Stove Top stuffing into the mixture and cut up green onion and halved 6 cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This recipe was absolutely delicious! I also some slight changes to it by substituting soy milk instead of regular milk and it came out fantastic. I sautéed the onion and warmed some frozen broccoli with about 2 tablespoons of water for 2 to 3 minutes for this recipe. My vegetarian boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Was easy and tasty. I used canned milk. I increased to 2 cups of cheese and added in some chopped red pepper. I cut up some small potatoes I had on hand and boiled those. I used a large metal spatula to press into my quiche dish. The cheese baked into a nice brown crust on top. Next time I will add in more peppers and maybe some fresh mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novella
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Like some others, I added eggs...5 in total. I dusted the top of the mashed potatoes with garlic powder, and next time I might add a bit of cubed ham. But even just the way this recipe was written it would be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Was pretty good, crust was a little thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
It was good, but I prefer the standard quiche crust. Also, even though I followed the advice of others, and added an extra egg and flour, it still came out pretty soft. I also baked the crust on the bottom shelf, but I don't think it helped much. I give it stars though for taste. I added sausage and garlic powder and omitted the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States