Broccoli Quiche with Mashed Potato Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I made this with cauliflower instead of broccoli, and 1 bunch of kale. I didn't pre-set the potato crust in the oven for 30 min because I forgot. So, the potato crust is mushy, which is fine since it mixes with the filling and tastes really good. I sauteed turkey bacon in butter which I added to the filling. I also sauteed chopped red onion in butter which I also added to the mixture. I omitted the cheese. I added in chicken flavor Stove Top stuffing into the mixture and cut up green onion and halved 6 cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This recipe was absolutely delicious! I also some slight changes to it by substituting soy milk instead of regular milk and it came out fantastic. I sautéed the onion and warmed some frozen broccoli with about 2 tablespoons of water for 2 to 3 minutes for this recipe. My vegetarian boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Was easy and tasty. I used canned milk. I increased to 2 cups of cheese and added in some chopped red pepper. I cut up some small potatoes I had on hand and boiled those. I used a large metal spatula to press into my quiche dish. The cheese baked into a nice brown crust on top. Next time I will add in more peppers and maybe some fresh mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novella
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Like some others, I added eggs...5 in total. I dusted the top of the mashed potatoes with garlic powder, and next time I might add a bit of cubed ham. But even just the way this recipe was written it would be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Was pretty good, crust was a little thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
It was good, but I prefer the standard quiche crust. Also, even though I followed the advice of others, and added an extra egg and flour, it still came out pretty soft. I also baked the crust on the bottom shelf, but I don't think it helped much. I give it stars though for taste. I added sausage and garlic powder and omitted the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This recipe was really good - a nice twist on the typical quiche, and healthier too! I put my own little twist on it and added spicy turkey sausage, red peppers, and broccoli, as well as light cheddar cheese. I also used egg whites and 2 eggs to cut down on some fat - and used salt only in the potatoes. In the eggs i added some Mrs.Dash spice and pepper - added some different flavours and cut down on the sodium! I also left out the nutmeg.. I also baked it on the bottom rack to help the potatoes be more of a "crust" than a mash - but next time I would try what another reviewer had mentioned and bake the crust for 15 min prior to making the dish to help the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I left out the nutmeg, based on reviews. I loved this and my boyfriend, who isn't a broccoli fan, had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Turned out great! I used red bliss mashed potatoes for the crust. Also, I had an array of fresh veggies so I reduced the amount of broccoli and added squash, peppers, and leaks to the other ingredients. As others suggested I used 4 eggs instead of 3. Also, used cheddar cheese and smoked Gouda and then sprinkled grated parmigian on the top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Not bad. For the texture of the mashed potatoes I made sure there were some small chucks of potatoes in the mix this help with the crust structure. After baking the mashed potato crust for 30 minutes, I added steamed broccoli, cooked bacon chunks, onions and garlic and cheese. With three eggs and a 1/2 cup of milk. I baked the mixture covered with tin foil for 20 minutes and then baked uncovered for another 30 minutes. It was good dish, something different to add to the usual dinner menu. However it did take a long time almost an hour and half baking time not including prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Quiche

You won’t believe how easy, and delicious, this vegetarian quiche is.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States