Broccoli Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
Delicious, although I did change a few things. First of all, I didn't think the quantities would feed all of my guests, so I doubled the flour and butter, used an 8 oz package of light cream cheese, 1 cup of shredded swiss, 1 1/2 cups of cheddar, and a 32 oz of hash browns. I also used fresh broccoli crowns - approx 1 1/2 pounds (before cleaned and cut up). And last but not least, instead of the bread crumb topping, I put on the french fried onion rings. I also defrosted the hash browns in the microwave before adding to the cheese sauce. It was delicious, and filled a 9 x 11 casserole. Couldn't see how a 12 oz bag of hash browns could feed 8 people. I had only a small container of left overs and we only had 8 for dinner!! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Very tasty! A nice light side dish. I used diced Russet potatoes and fresh broccoli instead of frozen, and replaced Swiss cheese with Cheddar...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I loved this recipe. I added finely diced onions, minced garlic and chopped green onions to the butter in the first step to add a bit more flavor, fresh broccoli (steamed)and I used soy milk instead of regular because I was out but it tasted WAY better with soy! I also used cheddar instead of swiss - I don't think this recipe is grown up enough for swiss, cheddar definitely fits better (and has more of a "cheesy" flavor) I will most definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
OH MY GOSH!!!THIS WAS AWESOME AFTER I GLUTTONED IT UP. I HAD A 32OZ.BAG OF HASH BROWNS, SO I DOUBLED UP ON ALL THE INGREDIENTS EXCEPT FOR THE BREADCRUMBS...I ALSO ADDED 1/2 CUP SHREDDED GRUYERE AND 1/2 CUP SHREDDED FONTINA AND INSTEAD OF THE BREADCRUMBS I TOPPED IT WITH CRUSHED CORN FLAKES CRUMBS AND DRIZZLED WITH BUTTER, THEN I TOPPED THAT WITH THOSE FRENCH FRIED ONIONS...YOW!! IT WAS A WEIGHT-WATCHERS-BEWARE- TRIPLE-THREAT-DIET-BREAKER!!!!BUT NONETHELESS, GODDESS AND FAMILY APPROVED!!!XOXOXOXOXO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
I did this recipe with steamed fresh broccoli and the chunky style potatoes as suggested by other reviewers. The blend of cheeses is wonderful and very open to doing your own experimentation with the type/tase you like. Reduced fat cream cheese works wonderfully well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I rated this 4 because it's very customizable. I made the following changes (which bumped it up to a 5 in my opinion): 1/2 teaspoon dill weed, 1 teaspoon dried chives, 1/2 teaspoon each garlic and onion powder. I stirred the broccoli into the potatoes rather than layering and sprinkled some sunflower seed over the top for the last 5 minutes or so. This will be my new go-to cheesy potato recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyelm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
I also used sharp cheddar cheese(instead of swiss) and increased amount to at least 1/2 a cup. Also, to add a bit of zip, I added 1/4-1/2 tsp. cayenne. Took it to a pot luck and everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
Fantastic - have made this several times and it's always as good left over (if we're lucky enough to HAVE leftovers!). I've substituted both cheddar and mozzarella for the swiss and it turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
Very good "comfort food" I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. Next time I would steam fresh broccoli insead of using frozen broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Pretty blah; definitely needs more vegetables like mushrooms or tomatoes. Also needs salt and pepper. Consistency was pasty and none of the individual flavors stood out. Could be better with cheddar or colby jack cheese. Find a better recipe; they're out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States