Broccoli Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Pretty bland. Will try some of the other suggestions, like sub. sharp cheddar for the Swiss, and maybe some chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNCOOK2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This recipe wasn't bad but to me it was very bland, my husband also thought it needed something else but we couldn't figure it out. Maybe more cheese! everything tastes better with cheese anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calead910

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
I did this recipe with steamed fresh broccoli and the chunky style potatoes as suggested by other reviewers. The blend of cheeses is wonderful and very open to doing your own experimentation with the type/tase you like. Reduced fat cream cheese works wonderfully well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
Delicious, although I did change a few things. First of all, I didn't think the quantities would feed all of my guests, so I doubled the flour and butter, used an 8 oz package of light cream cheese, 1 cup of shredded swiss, 1 1/2 cups of cheddar, and a 32 oz of hash browns. I also used fresh broccoli crowns - approx 1 1/2 pounds (before cleaned and cut up). And last but not least, instead of the bread crumb topping, I put on the french fried onion rings. I also defrosted the hash browns in the microwave before adding to the cheese sauce. It was delicious, and filled a 9 x 11 casserole. Couldn't see how a 12 oz bag of hash browns could feed 8 people. I had only a small container of left overs and we only had 8 for dinner!! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Family loved it. I used the "country" style hashbrowns (cubed as opposed to shredded) and used more cheese than recipe called for. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
Very good "comfort food" I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. Next time I would steam fresh broccoli insead of using frozen broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
I LOVED this recipe!!!! The only thing I changed when I made it is, I used Colby cheese instead of Swiss 'cause we didn't have any. It still tasted really good! Thanks for putting it on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Very good. Took a little longer to bake than the recipe stated. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANBRINKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
I am not a casserole person, but this was good. My husband said "I could eat this every night" and my daughter who doesn't like potatoes said "I am in love!" Possibly they exaggerate, but it was yummy. I love this web site. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
Fantastic - have made this several times and it's always as good left over (if we're lucky enough to HAVE leftovers!). I've substituted both cheddar and mozzarella for the swiss and it turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States