Broccoli Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This dish was pretty good. I added minced garlic into the sauce and diced some onion for some flavor. Overall it was good. Tried it with broccoli one time and with french style green beans another. Both were good but i prefer the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I rate recipes I use off of the recipe without tweaks. l did double this recipe but it should not matter all recipes should work as perfect doubled as not. HORRIBLE! BLAND FLOURY AND JUST HORRIBLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is serious stick-to-your-ribs comfort food. I made it for our synagogue’s turn at the local shelter and got lots of requests for seconds on this dish in particular. A tripled recipe fills a steam table pan 19.5x11.5x3.5. For one pan I used For the base: 12 tablespoons butter ½ cup flour 3 teaspoons salt 3 cups milk For the cheese sauce: 24 ounces cream cheese (blend in before the shredded cheese) 2 two-pound bags of Costco's shredded “Mexican Blend” cheese For the filling: 1 five-pound bag of Costco’s frozen broccoli florets, 3 32-ounce bags of store brand frozen “hash brown” diced potatoes. Topping (see below): One more two-pound bag of shredded cheese Multiply up the spices as you wish. (I used paprika, dried chives, onion powder, garlic powder and black pepper.) As per other comments, the potatoes don’t go very far so put down only a thin layer below the broccoli and the remainder on top. Bake for 1 hour, and then put that third 2 lb bag of shredded cheese on top of the pan and bake for another ten minutes to give some heft to the thin top potato layer. I made it the night before and reheated before serving, but allow plenty of time to reheat as it’s VERY dense. I used a Dutch oven to make the cheese sauce and combine it with the potatoes, and the tripled recipe just fit. This is a great “guy” recipe as there are relatively few ingredients and blending the cheeses and potatoes helps us guys understand why Moms are so strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My son loved this one! We used french fried onions instead of bread crumbs on top, and it was very good that way. We'll definitely make this again! It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I thought this recipe was very easy and all the ingredients I love. It was good. However, it was bland and did not have much flavor at all. It needed something - maybe a different cheese or some tabasco......not sure what, but this was a good starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariettaKelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Loved it! I used fresh broccoli (steamed just a bit) and added a bit more cheese. Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
It sounds like I am the only one who used Monterey Jack cheese instead of Swiss or Cheddar. I really should have added more spices to it, like garlic and onion at the very least. I wanted it to stay a vegetarian meal so left all the meat options out. I did however slice up my russets into gratin style and layered them individually. This took a bit more time but what's an extra 2 minutes. Then, because I couldn't "pour" half of the potato mix in (as suggested) I ladled the cheese mixture on. Added steamed fresh broccoli, then the last layer of potatoes with the bread crumbs. Because the potatoes were thicker than the recipe called for it was not fully cooked in 35 minutes. I decided to pour some vegetable stock in the dish to speed up the cooking time and keep the potatoes from drying out. Added 15 more minutes in the oven. Each serving will need to be doctored up with some s&p and maybe some garlic powder. I don't mind trying it again but will need to make some variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I adore this recipe, just as it is. Another reviewer mentioned that they didn't think it made enough food for all of their guests. I don't think it's intended to be a main course, just a side dish. You can certainly double it (or more) to make a larger, main-dish meal. For my boyfriend and I, this recipe makes enough for both of us with a lot of leftovers. I often don't measure out hashbrowns or broccoli since they generally come in different sized bags than what is used in the recipe, so it varies some each time. It's always delicious, though, and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This turned out really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
GOT RAVE REVIEWS FROM TEH FAMILY. BETTER THE 2ND DAY. MAY HAVE TO ADD A LITTLE MORE SEASONING BASED ON PREFERENCE BUT OVERALL PRETTY DARN GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States