Broccoli Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
it was runny even following the recipe I used egg beaters instead not sure if that was the problem and the broccoli was still aldente which was not good wont make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
My changes: first, I used a 9" square pan and cooking spray. Since it's a fat-fest anyway, cook 4-6 slices of bacon until crispy and crumble. I used a full cup of coarsely chopped onion and 3 cloves of garlic (there can never be too much garlic) - sauteed in bacon drippings until onions are opaque. Add a hefty couple pinches of red pepper flakes. I cut the cheddar in half and substituted Mexican Cotija because this recipe NEEDS salt. Plus a couple generous pinches of coarse ground black pepper. It took about 5 minutes longer to cook. More Cotija went on top for browning. Turned out flavorful and awesome. Good for breakfast the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I made this recipe GLUTEN FREE by replacing the baking mix with 3/4 cup GF bread crumbs and my marathon running husband who needs carbs and hates anything GF loved it. I sautéed the onion, some baby portabello mushrooms, and some garlic salt first and put it into the pan, then added the mixture of milk, egg, and breadcrumbs. Mistake. Not enough of the egg mixture to cover the pan, and when I mixed it IN the pan it messed up my nonstick mojo (I had buttered the 9x13 dish.) Next time I will mix it all first as directed OR I will use little bread cubes with my favorite gluten free bread, then pour the thinner mixture that is missing the breadcrumbs over the cubes and let it soak overnight before cooking. Last night I was in a must cook now and eat now situation. My husband used tabasco sauce, I wish I would have spent a little more time adding spices, or the tomato on top as suggested. I was grateful to find this recipe late last night and will make it again with many variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Kinda bland as written although I can see lots of room for additions. Salt and pepper is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
very quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This could be great, but needs a little work. Next time, I will sauté the onions first and add more seasoning. Also, I cooked it for 40 minutes and it was not enough. Next time, I might make it a bit smaller and add a bit less milk. Potatoes and sautéed mushrooms would have been a nice addition. This is a great base for many combinations. Can’t wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmmorgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was delicious! Because we had a ton of fresh tomatoes from our garden, towards the end of baking I layered thin-sliced tomatoes on top and then some parmesan cheese. Will definitely make it again with or without the tomato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This recipe was okay. Next time I will add more seasonings, more baking mix and per my husband bacon. I would also add more broccoli since I made this recipe to use up some broccoli from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yachats, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I needed to use up some fresh broccoli and this recipe was perfect for it. I followed the recommendations of other reviewers and used a 13x9 pan, added salt, pepper and some crushed red pepper. Since we are suffering from fresh garden tomato overload, I also sliced tomato and laid it on the top before baking. Definitely a winner in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Loved it! I used a 9X13 so should have reduced the baking time-a tad scorched. Will add some spices (pepper, garlic?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States