Broccoli Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
This recipe was a great find!! My vegatarian daughter loved it, and I loved how easy it was to make. The rest of the family were pleased as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was delicious! Because we had a ton of fresh tomatoes from our garden, towards the end of baking I layered thin-sliced tomatoes on top and then some parmesan cheese. Will definitely make it again with or without the tomato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Loved it! I used a 9X13 so should have reduced the baking time-a tad scorched. Will add some spices (pepper, garlic?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
very quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
I thought this recipe was very good, although I made a few modifications. To bump up the healthiness of the recipe, I skipped the cheese on the top (there is plenty of cheese cooked in), and I used whole-wheat baking mix. Also, there is no need to grease the pie pan. This recipe does not stick to the pan. I would suggest adding pepper or some other spice to the ingredients, since it's just a tad bland. Also, as a note, the broccoli does not have to be thawed completely before you bake this. Just put the frozen broccoli in the microwave on "thaw" while you are stirring the batter, and it will be plenty thawed by the time you are ready for it. As a final note, you might want to try cooking this on the stovetop, for a quicker cooking time. Just put enough of the mixture in the frying pan to cover the bottom, and cook kind of like a pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
wonderful used fresh broccoli and baked in an oblong pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Great and easy, too! I have made this quite a few times, and I have some adjustments that I now prefer to make each time. I chop an entire onion and saute it first in 1/2 Tbl. butter, along with 1 tsp. minced garlic (the onions don't cook well enough for me otherwise, and garlic adds nice flavor), then add them to the mixture. I lower the fat a bit by using only 2 cups of cheese (none really needs to be sprinkled on top) - another note - skim milk works well in this recipe. Be sure and thaw (then drain) the broccoli well, or there will be too much liquid in the pie. I also add 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper to the mixture before pouring into the pie plate. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Love this recipe - have made it a million times, with different variations on the ingredients. My favorite is ham, broccoli & swiss - thanks for putting it on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Loved this recipe! Pardon the pun, but it was easy as pie to make! While I did not do it this time, I could see how adding either ground beef or italian sausage would make a great dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wolfwyndd
Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was delish. I also sauteed fresh broccoli with onions and garlic and tossed in a little spinach as well. I seasoned it up with salt, cracked pepper and crushed red pepper. I cooked it in a 9X13, which increased the crust capacity. I also substituted some of the cheese for cottage cheese and used less cheese. Good stuff. This pie would be a great breakfast dish also as it's somewhat quiche-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States