Broccoli Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
It came out watery. The broccoli wasn't completely thawed, so that may be why. My daughter gagged. Since I made it for her, I guess it won't stay in the recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I loved it! It took a lot longer that stated in the recipe to cook. It was more like an hour. The taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This is a GREAT weekday meal! I add sea salt & fresh ground pepper. I used dehydrated minced onion & lowfat baking mix. It came out great! It was super easy and all 3 of my sons ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hadley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I too added salt and pepper. I also used fresh broccloi which I blanched and chopped the flowerets. I also baked it in a 9x13 pan. I don't usually include so many changes when rating a recipe but upon reading the other comments... We really enjoyed the recipe with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was only just okay. I think, overall, the problem was that even though I dried my broccoli as was suggested, the pie was overall too wet for me when it was done. Also, it was a bit bland, even with plenty of black pepper and some Worcestershire sauce--maybe it needed salt instead of Worcestershire? I don't know. I will only make it again if I find myself with way too much broccoli & cheese on my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Better if you substitute mozzarella for the cheddar and add 1/2 cup romano cheese. Tastes better then the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Even my boyfriend, who's not a broccoli fan, enjoyed this dish. I used fresh broccoli and sauteed it first with the onion. I used skim milk and only one cup of cheddar to make the dish healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was really good! It is a great, simple recipe that my 7 and 3 year old LOVE! I did saute the onions in a little butter and added a little garlic, crushed red pepper, parsley and italian seasoning. Then added that mixture to the broccoli mixture- but besides that I followed the recipe. Thanks you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Tannersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Great and easy, too! I have made this quite a few times, and I have some adjustments that I now prefer to make each time. I chop an entire onion and saute it first in 1/2 Tbl. butter, along with 1 tsp. minced garlic (the onions don't cook well enough for me otherwise, and garlic adds nice flavor), then add them to the mixture. I lower the fat a bit by using only 2 cups of cheese (none really needs to be sprinkled on top) - another note - skim milk works well in this recipe. Be sure and thaw (then drain) the broccoli well, or there will be too much liquid in the pie. I also add 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper to the mixture before pouring into the pie plate. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I thought this was a good recipe but I found out it was better served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States