Broccoli Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I have been making this dish for years and the key is to use a 9x13 baking dish instead of the pie plate. We sometimes use pizza cheese too instead of just the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mercersburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Great and easy, too! I have made this quite a few times, and I have some adjustments that I now prefer to make each time. I chop an entire onion and saute it first in 1/2 Tbl. butter, along with 1 tsp. minced garlic (the onions don't cook well enough for me otherwise, and garlic adds nice flavor), then add them to the mixture. I lower the fat a bit by using only 2 cups of cheese (none really needs to be sprinkled on top) - another note - skim milk works well in this recipe. Be sure and thaw (then drain) the broccoli well, or there will be too much liquid in the pie. I also add 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper to the mixture before pouring into the pie plate. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
I thought this recipe was very good, although I made a few modifications. To bump up the healthiness of the recipe, I skipped the cheese on the top (there is plenty of cheese cooked in), and I used whole-wheat baking mix. Also, there is no need to grease the pie pan. This recipe does not stick to the pan. I would suggest adding pepper or some other spice to the ingredients, since it's just a tad bland. Also, as a note, the broccoli does not have to be thawed completely before you bake this. Just put the frozen broccoli in the microwave on "thaw" while you are stirring the batter, and it will be plenty thawed by the time you are ready for it. As a final note, you might want to try cooking this on the stovetop, for a quicker cooking time. Just put enough of the mixture in the frying pan to cover the bottom, and cook kind of like a pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Even my boyfriend, who's not a broccoli fan, enjoyed this dish. I used fresh broccoli and sauteed it first with the onion. I used skim milk and only one cup of cheddar to make the dish healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Loved it! I used a 9X13 so should have reduced the baking time-a tad scorched. Will add some spices (pepper, garlic?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was really good! It is a great, simple recipe that my 7 and 3 year old LOVE! I did saute the onions in a little butter and added a little garlic, crushed red pepper, parsley and italian seasoning. Then added that mixture to the broccoli mixture- but besides that I followed the recipe. Thanks you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Tannersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This could be great, but needs a little work. Next time, I will sauté the onions first and add more seasoning. Also, I cooked it for 40 minutes and it was not enough. Next time, I might make it a bit smaller and add a bit less milk. Potatoes and sautéed mushrooms would have been a nice addition. This is a great base for many combinations. Can’t wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmmorgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This was a great recipe. I modified it for 15 servings in a 9x13 casserole dish for Easter. Everyone loved it. Especially the 8-year olds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
Was not bad, made for a party , cut up in small pieces used as an appetizer, Everyone liked it. Thought It was a little bland, could use a few spices had to add salt and pepper on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2000
I was shocked at how quick from start to finish this recipe was. My daughter loved it, as did I. A real family pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States