Broccoli, Pepperoni and Three Cheese Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
I made this - just to see how it compared to another recipe on this site ...REAL ITALIAN CALZONES. I am staying with the othr recipe because it seemed to be a bigger hit at my house. This was missing something for us. You should not mess with perfection - and for us (personal taste) we preferred the other recipe. Good stuff though - so try it and compare yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
The stuffing is so good, I could eat it by itself! I added warm pizza sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This is a great recipe. While it may not be the easiest or fastest, it is worth the effort. I made a different filling for it, however, and I think you should feel free to make whatever filling you'd like. Because my filling was only enough for 4, I used the dough to make 4 calzones even though the recipe makes enough dough for 6 calzones. That was a mistake on my part, because it made the calzones too doughy. But my husband was raving about it; between each bite he said "This is delicious," "This is soooo good!" That's worth any amount of effort! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
This was a very tasty calzone, although it was a bit time consuming. Worth the time though for the delicious homemade dough crust! We had it with spaghetti sauce on top, although it would be good plain too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Cello
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
The calzones were good, but the recipe only came out with enough to stuff about 4 1/2 calzones the way it was measured. I had to make extra to go inside the remaining ones. I also used premade garlic & herb dough from Trader Joe's instead of making my own like the recipe said, and they tasted great with the herb dough. When they were done baking, we dipped them in marinara sauce to add some extra flavor. I am rather inexperienced at cooking, and found this recipe difficult (and rather time consuming with the problems I encountered) but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Cello

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Awesome recipe! Even my picky husband loved it. I use pizza dough from the supermarket to save some time....it came out great......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crewshome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
It was kind of dry so I had a white cream sauce to it the second time and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I used this recipe just for the crust part(I just use pepperoni & cheese for filling), but the crust is phenomenal! I LOVE it!!! My husband works a job where he is always in a truck & doesn't have time to stop and eat but these are great because he can take them with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rangergirl56m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Good but I made some changes. I used half whole wheat flour and it still seemed like the water amount was too much. I also thought it looked a little tasteless on paper so I add some tyme, oregano and basel and some red pepper flakes for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States