Broccoli, Pepperoni and Three Cheese Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
So Much Work.. SO Worth it! These were SO good! I'd never made my own dough before so if I can do it, anyone can. :D P.S.. I added black olives and extra mozzarella and used spaghetti sauce for the kids to dip it in. Even my picky kids loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I think overall the recipe is good, but it was kind of bland. So my family and I use a dipping sauce with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yackyyan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was my first time making Calzones and this recipe was quite simple to follow and the taste was wonderful. I used my bread machine for the dough and each of my family members choose their ingredients to go inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed these. He kept raving all through dinner. I actually forgot to add the garlic, but it was still great without it (and I almost always double the garlic in any recipe that I'm making). I served these with Easy Pizza Sauce III from this site. We just finished dinner and hubby has already asked me when we're having them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
My husband says this is one of the best recipes I ever made, and the kids liked it too. The pizza dough part of the recipe was very good, and I will try it for pizza too. I re-arranged the order of the ingredients to make it in my breadmaker dough cycle, removing it after the first rise was complete, then just rolling it out at that point to make the calzones. I used frozen, mixed broccoli, caulifower, and carrots instead of fresh broccoli, and I used cheddar cheeze instead of provalone (because I was out of provalone).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Great base recipe! I always change up the "toppings" based on who they're for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Dufour

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Harbour, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Ok, I didn't make my own dough, but I did use the filling. Unfortunately I also didn't have broccoli, so I used fresh baby spinach....but it was awesome anyway!!Maybe next time I'll have the time to make my own dough-who knows. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This was a tasty dish. The bread was good and the filling was yummy but I wish I made a lot more of the filling. It was a little sparse for my liking. Next time I think I will double the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Good but I made some changes. I used half whole wheat flour and it still seemed like the water amount was too much. I also thought it looked a little tasteless on paper so I add some tyme, oregano and basel and some red pepper flakes for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
these came out really really great. The flavors blended so well. there was the ooey cheese over the crips, yet tender brocoli, and the peperoni chunks gave just the right kick of flavor. Difinitley worth the effort every now and then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States