Broccoli Mango Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I was intrigued by the unusual ingredients in this recipe and skeptical that it would work. Well, it did! This is a visually beautiful broccoli salad and tastes good as well. The horseradish is subtle and adds interest to the dressing. I did not use all the dressing and less onion than called for. I also added the cashews just before serving so they would not get soft. After tasting the salad I felt it needed some kick so I added crushed red pepper flakes. Thanks for sharing jen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
great summer recipe! my guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was fantastic. A great cool salad for the summer. The cashew nut and oranges complimented each other. I used chopped mango in this instead of cubes so we didn't get just a bite of mango. I also like the kick of the horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highfalls, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Wow. Very good and very different. I love this dressing and the combination of ingredients and flavors work very well together. I switched out the oranges for a handful of dried cranberries, and toasted almonds for the cashews. This goes into my favorite file. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! It should be called Mango-Bango-Broccoli Rocks! What a great flavor combination. I think the dressing is a great addition to any salad, and as another reviewer noted, you can sub the crunch. I used rough chopped broccoli florettes, and fresh chopped mango and navel orange segments instead of canned mandarin oranges -- didn't have cashews, but substituted a trail-mix of toasted almonds & sunflower seeds and the crunch held up well. The mango just adds the perfect balance that the oranges alone wouldn't do. Also, didn't have 4 hours to wait & chilled for only 2 hours, so added just a little more ranch -- and it was fantastic! Thanks Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
LOVE IT!!!!! There really is not to much more to say then that. In the favorites for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovelyfamilyofmine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Great w/coconut shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe for summer. I used hot mustard instead of horseradish. Really refreshing with just the right amount of sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czeri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
After sitting in my recipe box for 3 years, I'm glad I finally got around to making this salad. I halved the recipe as DH usually isn't fond of raw broccoli. After his second helping, he commented how good this salad is because of the mango in it. Never knew he liked mango so much. In fact, I don't think I've ever seen him eat mango in 27 years! The salad was good, but I had to play around with the dressing a bit. Even with the horseradish, there just wasn't enough zip. I added some salt and pepper and a bit more horseradish and a little slaw dressing mix. This seemed to do the trick. I had fresh clementines on hand, so I used that in place of the canned mandarin orange. A tasty salad that will be a nice addition to summer meals. It is different than any salad I've seen at gatherings - and I like different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Your Note| Edit I did the best with what I had in the house, and it was great. I didn't have, and don't like, ranch; so I used blue cheese instead. I used a white onion in place of the red one. Almonds intead of cashews (but I do think cashews would be better). ~r.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agent_R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States