Broccoli Mac and Cheese with Bacon and Potato Nugget Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Best Mac and Cheese EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was wonderful. I made a couple of minor additions / changes but I don't think it really altered the recipe much. I forgot to buy the Adobo Seasoning so used Garlic / Herb etc, I added a layer of fresh spinach before the adding the last layer of cheese etc, and then because we're not huge Tater Tot fans, we used diced seasoned hashbrowns instead. My husband loved it and we decided we're going to try using Pepper Jack cheese the next time to give it a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is the best mac n cheese recipe ever. I used a whole package of bacon, eliminated the butter altogether (except to butter the pan) and sauteed the broccoli and onion in the bacon grease after it was cooked. mixed in half the bacon with the pasta and used the rest to top it off before baking. also used galric powder instead of adobo (didn't have any). AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I was surprised by how much I really liked this, since I originally decided to make it just to use up some ingredients I had on hand. I used a lot of extra broccoli, a few extra tater tots, and used onion powder in place of onion. I had made some extra bacon the previous day, so that saved me from having to cook it for this meal, I just took it out of the fridge and diced it up. To make less dirty dishes I did not cook my broccoli in the skillet, but added it to the pasta while it was boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
My husband and daughter loved this. My husband said it was one of the best things I ever made and my daughter asked if I could make it everyday. I doubled the bacon because of a review I read but even then my husband said I should double that. He also said if I left out the brocoli it would be way better...I told him tough. I gave it 4 stars because it definately needed salt but besides that it was great. I also suggest using more tater tots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Used rotini pasta. Added a lot more cheese and went for a more cheese/butter/roux. Melting the cheese with the butter and adding fat free half and half, adding the cheese and then working the veggies into it. Roasted my veggies with garlic, just a preference, but very good. We went for fat free cheese also. It's fun to make good food and morph it into something we like. Recipe as it stands is great, we just made it work for our new diet! thanks so much, this is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe is a fine basic but be warned it is NOT at all flavourful the way it is written. Use your own spices and herbs and don't bother with the adobo. As other reviews say, mix everything in a bowl before you put it in the dish BUT (a big but) wait until everything has cooled to room temp. There is nothing worse than scrambled eggs and curdled milk. Forget about the butter, reserve a tablespoon of the bacon grease the way nature intended. To send this recipe to the next level double the bacon and arrange a layer of fresh whole spinach leaves on top of the macaroni, then add the final cheese layer. I grated a little fresh parmesan on top after it came out of the oven. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This turned out amazing! I did change it up a little bit and mixed all of the ingredients together in a big bowl before putting it in the casserole dish, and then topped it with more cheese and the rest of the tater tots. And I think next time I might thaw out the tater tots all the way because some of them weren't completely done, but it has SO much flavor both my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I used rotelle pasta, way more than 6 strips of bacon and no adobo seasoning. I added a few of my favorite spices and continued with the recipe as stated. It turned out really tasty! I did let the tater tots thaw a bit while i was making the pasta and bacon and still they were a bit cold after 35 minutes in the oven. I'd suggest mixing everything in a bowl before adding it to the pan and then topping with tots and cheese again. I added some fresh cut scallions to the top for a bit of texture and taste. This recipe made plenty of food for 6 people and there are still left overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Gunder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
The men liked it, me not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States