Broccoli Mac and Cheese with Bacon and Potato Nugget Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
The Casserole That Ate Manhatten! Just made this, and felt the need to warn others - this makes a TON, and will not fit into a 9 X 13 pan without very careful heaping. I think the problem is that there's way too much pasta. Next time, I would half the amount of pasta, and keep the seasonings the same; the overabundance of pasta weakens the flavor when made as directed, resulting in a casserole that is surprisingly bland, considering the ingredients. I couldn't taste the adobo at all, and grabbed the salt shaker after my first bite, which I never do. All that pasta made it the broccoli, tater, bacon bites hard to find, too. May try this again with suggested changes, but not sure. If I do, I'll post again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This turned out amazing! I did change it up a little bit and mixed all of the ingredients together in a big bowl before putting it in the casserole dish, and then topped it with more cheese and the rest of the tater tots. And I think next time I might thaw out the tater tots all the way because some of them weren't completely done, but it has SO much flavor both my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I used rotelle pasta, way more than 6 strips of bacon and no adobo seasoning. I added a few of my favorite spices and continued with the recipe as stated. It turned out really tasty! I did let the tater tots thaw a bit while i was making the pasta and bacon and still they were a bit cold after 35 minutes in the oven. I'd suggest mixing everything in a bowl before adding it to the pan and then topping with tots and cheese again. I added some fresh cut scallions to the top for a bit of texture and taste. This recipe made plenty of food for 6 people and there are still left overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
The men liked it, me not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Used rotini pasta. Added a lot more cheese and went for a more cheese/butter/roux. Melting the cheese with the butter and adding fat free half and half, adding the cheese and then working the veggies into it. Roasted my veggies with garlic, just a preference, but very good. We went for fat free cheese also. It's fun to make good food and morph it into something we like. Recipe as it stands is great, we just made it work for our new diet! thanks so much, this is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is the best mac n cheese recipe ever. I used a whole package of bacon, eliminated the butter altogether (except to butter the pan) and sauteed the broccoli and onion in the bacon grease after it was cooked. mixed in half the bacon with the pasta and used the rest to top it off before baking. also used galric powder instead of adobo (didn't have any). AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
We weren't a fan of this recipe, it was just OK. The flavor was ok but it was far from cheesy enough for us. Alsom if you are going to try it, I wouldn't suggest making it with fat free milk like I did, I had cooked chunks of milk in it, and I did mix it well before putting it all in the dish! The only thing I did different from the recipe was leave out the potatoes/taters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was wonderful. I made a couple of minor additions / changes but I don't think it really altered the recipe much. I forgot to buy the Adobo Seasoning so used Garlic / Herb etc, I added a layer of fresh spinach before the adding the last layer of cheese etc, and then because we're not huge Tater Tot fans, we used diced seasoned hashbrowns instead. My husband loved it and we decided we're going to try using Pepper Jack cheese the next time to give it a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Best Mac and Cheese EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Not great. Couldn't taste adobo at all, even with half the amount of pasta. I substituted BBQ chicken because I didn't have bacon. Pre-cooked potatoes for about 10 minutes to make sure they were done and a little crispy. It was OK, but nothing to write home about, and it was definitely a lot of mess to clean up with preparation. Fortunately, I could clean while the meal was cooking, which was a bonus. Would work best for a side dish at a potluck instead of a main dish at home, especially with the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States