Broccoli Mac and Cheese with Bacon and Potato Nugget Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
This is very tasty, well worth the effort. As per others, you may wish to cut down the macaroni to 10 to 12 oz., and increase the bacon and broccoli. There's a recipe for Adobo seasoning here, but I just take all the spices and sprinkle them lightly on top before mixing. I've also made this with California style frozen veggies, about 3 cups or so, and use the bacon grease instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruzebra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Good recipe! I cut the recipe in half and it filled a 9 x 13 pan. I didn't have tater tots so I just cut up some potatoes. I cooked the potatoes in the left over bacon grease, and then added the onions and broccoli. I mixed everything in the drained pasta pot and poured it in the casserole dish. I saved some cheese, and topped it off with some Italian bread crumbs to add a bit of a crust/crunch. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blindlamb
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is delicious but really rich. Since trying this recipe, I made my usual Mac n cheese recipe with cheese sauce and just added the bacon and caramelized onions. Delicious and easy. Just add the bacon and caramelized onions to your favorite Mac n cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I was surprised by how much I really liked this, since I originally decided to make it just to use up some ingredients I had on hand. I used a lot of extra broccoli, a few extra tater tots, and used onion powder in place of onion. I had made some extra bacon the previous day, so that saved me from having to cook it for this meal, I just took it out of the fridge and diced it up. To make less dirty dishes I did not cook my broccoli in the skillet, but added it to the pasta while it was boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Found it to be greasy.. It was ok..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe is a fine basic but be warned it is NOT at all flavourful the way it is written. Use your own spices and herbs and don't bother with the adobo. As other reviews say, mix everything in a bowl before you put it in the dish BUT (a big but) wait until everything has cooled to room temp. There is nothing worse than scrambled eggs and curdled milk. Forget about the butter, reserve a tablespoon of the bacon grease the way nature intended. To send this recipe to the next level double the bacon and arrange a layer of fresh whole spinach leaves on top of the macaroni, then add the final cheese layer. I grated a little fresh parmesan on top after it came out of the oven. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Lawrence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is the best mac n cheese recipe ever. I used a whole package of bacon, eliminated the butter altogether (except to butter the pan) and sauteed the broccoli and onion in the bacon grease after it was cooked. mixed in half the bacon with the pasta and used the rest to top it off before baking. also used galric powder instead of adobo (didn't have any). AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
My husband and daughter loved this. My husband said it was one of the best things I ever made and my daughter asked if I could make it everyday. I doubled the bacon because of a review I read but even then my husband said I should double that. He also said if I left out the brocoli it would be way better...I told him tough. I gave it 4 stars because it definately needed salt but besides that it was great. I also suggest using more tater tots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Not great. Couldn't taste adobo at all, even with half the amount of pasta. I substituted BBQ chicken because I didn't have bacon. Pre-cooked potatoes for about 10 minutes to make sure they were done and a little crispy. It was OK, but nothing to write home about, and it was definitely a lot of mess to clean up with preparation. Fortunately, I could clean while the meal was cooking, which was a bonus. Would work best for a side dish at a potluck instead of a main dish at home, especially with the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
We weren't a fan of this recipe, it was just OK. The flavor was ok but it was far from cheesy enough for us. Alsom if you are going to try it, I wouldn't suggest making it with fat free milk like I did, I had cooked chunks of milk in it, and I did mix it well before putting it all in the dish! The only thing I did different from the recipe was leave out the potatoes/taters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States