Broccoli, Leek, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Outstanding! I doubled bacon and substituted cauliflower for broccoli. My screen did say 1 TB pepper but I put less (season own bowl if wish) but I added a touch more salt. I did not have fennel so I used 1/4 tsp caraway I crushed with mortar n pestal. I used an immersion blender in pot & left reasonably chunky. Used skim milk instead of whole. Delicious!! Even my 11 year old daughter loved this soup - she usually hates everything this side of burger & fries!! I will make it often. A real winner in my book! Thank you Seeshell!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great recipe! For sure a keeper. I added in carrots for color. Will keep this as a "go to" for leek soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
FULL OF FLAVOR! The 1 tbsp of pepper was just enough spicey- loved it! Instead of bacon I put in a tbsp of bacon grease that I always keep on hand and also added one large sweet potato too. I only had turkey broth so used that. Also just had about 1 1/2 cups of 1/2 n 1/2 instead of milk. Turned out FANTASTIC! Everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I changed the recipe because I'm counting calories. I used Skim milk and cut the bacon. I didn't want to buy a big bag of potatoes so I ended up using two medium size Idaho potatoes. I used fresh broccoli. I bought bacon bits and low fat cheddar cheese to sprinkle on top. I also only pureed half the final soup and I'm really really glad I did. It was nice to have chunks of potato and broccoli. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This was perfect for the rainy cold evening we had here tonight. I made a couple of modifications--1 tsp pepper, a handful of sliced mushroos that needed to be used up. Didn't have the herbs d province, so used a mediterran blend that contained paprika,pepper, cumin, oregano,coriander,garlic and onion instead, then shook in a few good shakes of thyme and another 1/4 tsp of coriander. Only had fat free milk, so that's what I used. Didn't puree it, seems plently thick as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
It was a fine soup. Very chowdery. I looked up the ingredients for the Herbes de Provence and had most of them (not the fennel seed) so I improvised. It was neither wonderful nor terrible. I might make this again if I had the ingredients kicking around, but I wouldn't plan a grocery trip around it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I spent the day making this recipe, making sure I did it just as it said except when it said 1 Tablespoon black pepper. I love pepper but I though that was just too much. I put 2 teaspoons instead and believe me that is just too much. I can't share this giant pot of soup as no one would eat it because of the pepper. Everyone already thinks I use too much pepper, but this is outrageous and ruined a nice pot of soup. It would have had 5 starrs but the pepper was too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I loved this soup, but can't give it 5 stars as I didn't make it, and wouldn't have like it, as directed. I left out the bacon and used vegetable broth in place of chicken stock (to make it vegetarian), put in 1/4 tsp of pepper instead of 1 tbsp (because 1 tbsp sounded like an insane amount of pepper), used heavy whipping cream instead of milk (because yum!), cut out the 2 tbsps of butter and used only 1 tbsp olive oil (because of the fat in the whipping cream), used 1 1/2 tsps of salt and didn't purée it (why on earth wouldn't you want to eat all those great chunks of vegetables?). But then, OMG was it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I'm so mad! I just made this soup exactly as stated above and the amount of pepper ruined it! YUK. I knew it would be to much but I ignored my gut. Too bad. Otherwise this soup would rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This was fantastic! the only things i did different to cut calories was omit the bacon, use skim milk, 3 tbsp of cornstarch dissolved in 2 tbsp water and put in some chopped turnips i had lying around. i also only blended about 1/2 of the contents to leave some chunkiness to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denise hargreaves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States