Broccoli Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This was pretty good. I skipped the steaming step and just sauteed everything together. It does seem like it needs some other seasoning, the main flavor was lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe loosely –very loosely. For instance, scaling the recipe down to two servings for Hubs and me, 5/8 of a mushroom to 1-1/2 cups broccoli just doesn’t make sense (or in a full recipe, 5-1/2 cups of broccoli and 2 mushrooms?) I used quite a bit more mushrooms than that, along with shallots rather than green onion and no lemon juice. I sautéed the mushrooms, garlic and shallots in olive oil, then tossed it with the crisp-tender broccoli. Nice looking broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
We didn't care much for this. The lemon juice made the dish taste sour. My teen complained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was ok, but found the lemon flavour a bit overwhelming... next time I would add less lemon. The mushrooms helped cut the lemon flavour a bit (I forgot to add them at first as my partner doesn't like mushrooms, so was adding them only to my dish). I did use chives instead of green onions so perhaps that might have helped cut the lemon flavour a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I used a steam in bag of broccoli, a little more garlic and left out the mushrooms for my husband. Overall, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was just okay for us. It's certainly not unpleasant in any way, but it's definitely missing something. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Surprisingly good! I wanted to use up some fresh broccoli and it was to be served with lasagna, so I thought I'd give this a try. I used bacon grease instead of oil, and I used a few liberal shakes of garlic powder as we're out of fresh garlic. 2 large-ish heads of broccoli was around 5 cups if that helps with how much to buy. :) I omitted the mushrooms as there were lots in the lasagna. It was really quite good! Next time, I'll use bacon grease again (gives a really nice subtle bacon flavour) but I'll cut the lemon juice in half as the lemon-bacon aftertaste was a bit much. Thanks for sharing, Melanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This is very tasty. Unfortunately I didn't have any mushrooms on hand but the rest of the flavors worked quite well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States