Broccoli Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
5 star versatility! I did changes like a lot of others. About half the meat, half the sour cream, didn't have cr. soup, so I added flour and beef base to thicken. Also, I added garlic to the meat and cooked the fresh broccoli then mixed it in with the meat. Then only 8 oz cheese and baked for 45 min. I put it over egg noodles. So easy and very tasty. Some recipes are great for versability! This one is for certain! You can use what you have and still comes out tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Good, but I would use a sharp cheddar cheese next time. I would probably make this again. Although my kids didn't seem to care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I liked this and followed the recipe as written except for three small changes. I added a minced clove of garlic and cut the cheese in half. Also, I didn't precook the broccoli, figuring an hour in the oven would suffice. I served the casserole over rice and it was quite good! Next time, I might use less sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I was looking for something quick & easy - and this was it. Based on other reviews I modified it this way. I added some minced garlic & chopped mushrooms to the meat & onion mixture. Additionally, I topped it all off with Fried Onions. My family dug right into this dinner. This isn't going to impress the socks off your dinner guests, but for a quick & hearty dinner for the family, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I loved this casserole but did make a few changes. I followed others suggestions of serving over mashed potatoes. Trying to be conscious of saturated fats, I used only 1 can of mushroom soup (instead of celery) and half the amount of sour cream. This meal is delicious even without the cheese. I sprinkled seasoned pepper and beef bullion over the meat mixture. Next time I will try this with chicken. Thanks for the recipe, it is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This is a great starter-recipe. I've made several changes, and it turned out beautifully: 8oz. of egg noodles were boiled and placed in the bottom of a casserole dish. I then put in the frozen broccoli along with a few sliced carrots. I browned the meat with the onions and added a few cloves of garlic as well as a splash of Worcestershire sauce. I used a Cheddar-Jack mix and reduced the cheese from FOUR CUPS (woah!) to about two. This recipe is very versatile and there are a countless number of things that can be added or substituted. Delicious and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This was pretty ggod especially considering that my family is pretty picky so I had to leave out the onion and the mushrooms. I left everything else the same and it was good. Better than hamburger helper that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was really good but I added two chopped potatoes in place of the mushrooms. Without that change I think it would have been more like soup so I'm giving it only 4 stars. My husband really enjoyed this meal and I cut the recipe in half and it was just the right size casserole for myself, husband, and our 2 year old. I also used garlic salt instead of regular salt for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMANESSA8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
excellent..... I didn't cook the broccoli at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I pleasantly surprised my husband with this wonderfully tasting dish that is so easy to make! I cut the recipe in half and wish I didn't, because the leftovers were gone very quickly. The only thing that would make this better is to use fresh or steamfresh broccoli instead of frozen. I made this recipe with small parsley potatoes on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States