Broccoli Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This is a great starter-recipe. I've made several changes, and it turned out beautifully: 8oz. of egg noodles were boiled and placed in the bottom of a casserole dish. I then put in the frozen broccoli along with a few sliced carrots. I browned the meat with the onions and added a few cloves of garlic as well as a splash of Worcestershire sauce. I used a Cheddar-Jack mix and reduced the cheese from FOUR CUPS (woah!) to about two. This recipe is very versatile and there are a countless number of things that can be added or substituted. Delicious and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was really good but I added two chopped potatoes in place of the mushrooms. Without that change I think it would have been more like soup so I'm giving it only 4 stars. My husband really enjoyed this meal and I cut the recipe in half and it was just the right size casserole for myself, husband, and our 2 year old. I also used garlic salt instead of regular salt for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMANESSA8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I liked the recipe, but personally thought it needed a little tweaking. It tasted a bit like a deluxe baked potato, without the potato. I think I will make it again, only try it over mashed potatoes or maybe tater tots or something. I also thought the broccoli turned out a little squishy. I think I will half cook it next time. All in all, a keeper, though I seemed to make a great mess to make it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by USAFWife
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I've made this twice now. First time, exactly as written, and we found it a little on the bland side and kind of boring. So, I made some modifications tonight. Both times I have to half the measurements for the beef (1 pound), broccoli (14oz frozen chopped broccoli), onion(1/2cup)because it's just 3 of us in the house. Tonight, I used 1 can of cream of mushroom with roasted garlic soup, 1 can of cream of broccoli soup, 1 cup of sour cream, added seasoned salt and pepper to the meat while browning along with the onion and 2tsp of minced garlic. I sliced 4 small red new potatoes (skins left on for color contrast), microwaved for 5 minutes with seasoned salt and pepper sprinkled over them to help get them done quicker. Mixed soup/sour cream mixture, meat, and potatoes into a 9x13 casserole dish stirred well then sprinkled with 1 small can of french fried onion strings for some crunch. Left out the cheese this time as it is creamy enough with the soup mixture. Baked uncovered at 350 for 20-30 minutes. Thanks for a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USAFWife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
When I started cooking this recipe, I thought I had cream of celery soup in the pantry. I was wrong! I ended up substituting cream of mushroom instead. I also used fresh broccoli instead of frozen and colby/jack cheese mix. Does it still count as the same recipe even with all the changes? Either way, it turned out great. I served it over rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I liked this recipe for it's good flavor and nice texture - but it was more like a "partial" casserole...it needed something more. I think next time I'll make it and top it with Mashed Potatoes for a twist on Shepherds Pie or just add some egg noodles to help give it more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This recipe was awesome! I added oregano and basil just for more flavor. I topped it with parmesan cheese at the end too. My husband and I both LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Made this with fresh broccoli instead of frozen. I steamed it in the microwave until slightly cooked, then used in place of frozen. The amount of beef I used was 1 1/2 lb. instead of two pounds. Also, 16 oz. of Jack cheese is too much - I used about ten oz. Augmented the onion in the recipe with onion powder. The cheese was browned on the top after one hour, but not burned. This dish is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This casserole was outstanding! It is quite possibly the BEST I have ever tasted. Will definately make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I was impressed by this recipe but my husband wasn't as much. In the recipe's defense however, my husband doesn't like anything. He didn't like the sour cream, soup, mushrooms or broccoli. The only thing I changed was I chopped a potato and added that in as well. I also cut down on the broccoli and cheese a bit. It's a very filling comfort food style meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States