Broccoli Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
i started by tweaking this dish by using 2 very large onions, 1 lb of broccoli and 1 lb of meat then added lea perrins worcestershire "to taste" to the beef as it cooked then added garlic powder "to taste" then added two cans of cream of mushroom instead of celery once every thing was ready for the oven, i crushed up some herb stuffing, to make alittle finer, and put it in the bottom of the glass dish then added broccoli and topped with beef mix and spreaded cheese on last...........wow....mmm...good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
So delicious!!!!! One of our favorite dishes. I added noodles and potatoes for more substance and it was great. Next time, I will only use noodles. I also substituted cream of broccoli and cream of mushroom for the cream of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Personally, I don't think this recipe needs anything. For someone who's watching their carbs, this is great. I didn't miss the noodles, potatoes or rice in this casserole. With the monterrey jack cheese, this was just right. And since my husband is a carb-lover, I just served this with Texas Toast and he was a happy man. Nice and hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lumberton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
nice hearty meal when you need something quick.I used mashed potatoes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Well this was excellent, but I did change a couple of things. I couldn't find my celery soup, so I used my cream of broccoli.Then I microwaved 2 potatoes, cut them up and added them, also added a little hot seasoning (I'm married to a man that thinks everything should have that. He LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I also put egg noodles on the bottom (3 cups precooked)and followed the rest of recipe except. Kept the perfectly steamed fresh broccoli separate (they will overcook)and used 1 cup of a soft cheese (forget name but like parmesean, definitely an italian cheese). You can always mix the broccoli in at the end. It did taste like a "good" hamburger helper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This recipe as written is definitely lacking and only 2 stars to me. I used cream mushroom soup since in house. I also layered over noodles tossed with parmesan, garlic powder and butter, then added the cheese to top layer. This was all in an attempt to salvage this very bland recipe. My end result was kind of like hamburger helper. It was better the next day as a leftover after the flavors blended, but not a redo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Good but wouldn't be a fave of mine. I made it as written with no exceptions except for using fresh broccoli. I steamed it about 5 minutes and wonder if I should have. It did heat up nicely in the nuker as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I made mashed potatoes on the side to go with it. The next time I'll put it all together and bake it like a sheperd's pie. I used cream of mushroom as that's all I had. It was delicious and you could substitute other veggies instead of the broccoli. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very good! I thought I had everything I needed, didn't even look, just got started. I didn't have the Cream of celery soup or any other! All I could find was a packet of Knor's Cream of Spinach dip mix. Heated it with a cup of milk and the sour cream. Put in a few spoonfuls of mayo too. Also short on cheese,so I sprinkled parmesan on top of the broccoli. I also put egg noodles on the bottom as suggested. Did have some grated colby jack for the top. Even though I had to make the changes it turned out great. I give it five stars for being so flexible! Thanks. Two days later... Been eating the leftovers, which has been good also, but I have a few thoughts about what I would change. Decided I didn't like the noodles on the bottom. Next time no noodles, or cooked seperately, buttered. They compacted on the bottom, didn't like that. Also I would not pre-steam the broccoli. I only steamed it quickly, but still the broccoli was too soft for my liking. I only had frozen broccoli, fresh might be better, still not cooked. I will make this again and another thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeggyM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States