Broccoli Crawfish Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Excellent recipe and super-simple. I made a few changes according to my personal taste. 1. caramelized onions for 40 minutes, also used about 3 times as much onion and garlic as called for 2. mixed the shrimp into onion/garlic/butter/hot sauce before putting into the soup but did not cook them as I was worried the shrimp would become over-cooked 3. subbed creamed corn and chedder cheese soup for cream of chicken and celery 4. added about 3 tablespoons of lobster base to soup once it got hot 5. used old bay as well as increased amounts of hot sauce and cajun seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Original taste with a kick and a great smell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This was a very excellent recipe. I substituted shrimp for the crawfish and my 4 yr old son could not get enough. He had me picking out the shrimp bc it was so good. I will def make this again in the winter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This soup rocks. I didn't have crawfish or shrimp so I used tilapia. I will so completely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I would say this recipe is just Ok. Despite liberal use of Balls Cajun Seasoning (my sister sends it to me from Louisiana)it was rather bland. I'm thinking it maybe would have benefited from some sauteed celery or green or red pepper? At any rate, we did eat it, and it was by no means horrid, but for the amount of calories involved, I won't be making again, just not good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Absolutely loved this one, and so did my family, including my two boys, ages 5 and 6! Used Old Bay spice and went lightly with the pepper sauce. One little issue, though. The description at top of recipe when you print it says that you use cream of mushroom and celery soups. I didn't pay enough attention to the actual ingredient list and used cream of mushroom soup. Wasn't too fond of the mushrooms in this, but it still worked. We also used fresh crab, instead of crawfish or shrimp, from a recent crabbing trip in Oregon. Fabulous dish! By the way, I'm not at all experienced with Cajun food, but this had just the right amount of kick for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
great soup, need i say more, next time im gonna try it with shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
i own a resturant in southern louisiana, and my customers go crazy over this soup everytime i make it. it is outstanding. the only thing i do not use cornstarch b/c i don't like it. instead i add one can of cream of shrimp and one can of cream of chicken. but if you follow the reciepe exactly how it is it comes out perfect too. thanks this is really a five star reciepe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Donaldsonville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Received rave reviews from my guests! Prepared as directed--used 2% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXCATNAP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was with out a doubt one of the best and easiest soups I've made to date. Great taste! Can add rice and spiced sausage to the soup and get a more New Orleans flavor. Difinitely try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States