Broccoli Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This is very good! I made some changes per other reviewers: I subbed 2 boxes of Jiffy corn muffin mix for the cornmeal and flour, I used 5 eggs and 1 stick butter - everything else the same. I also chopped the broccoli very fine. Next time I'll add sauted onions and maybe a little feta. It cut beautifully after setting about 5 mins out of the oven. For those who don't like broccoli - you don't taste it, and I didn't tell my son, home from college, that it had cottage cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calliecat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Love this idea .. I used store bought corn muffin mix and add broccoli for a fast side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Yes this was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
It was okay and the recipe turned out. Perhaps broccoli and cornbread aren't a great combo. I'd rather keep them separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Tried it last night. It was ok. A little on the bland side. I think adding some spice, or some other ingredient would make it better. I did add 4 eggs instead of three, some salt and pepper too. But still, it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tea's
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This was interesting,yet I wouldn't make it again. In the end,the flavor of cornmeal seems to overpower the broccoli flavor quite a bit (likely why so many kids seem to like their broccoli better this way). Since sampling, I'm going to save the rest to pour clam chowder over and finish off with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Excellent recipe! My anti-veggie boys asked for seconds. Easy recipe, mixed wet ingredients in for processor for a couple minutes 'till well chopped/ blended and added dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I followed others advice & used the Jiffy muffin mix & 5 eggs & this was a huge hit! They didn't even notice the broccoli in it! Next time I am going to experiment with using less butter or maybe substituting yogurt for half to cut down on the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Made this for Christmas dinner last night and it was just "OK". Made as recipe directed. It was quite dry and very bland. Won't make this one again. Very little was eaten...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
My wife loves her broccoli souffle and I admit it is good. When I made this cornbread with broccoli she flipped out. You will now find this on our table at least once per week. Thanks for sharing. I did not change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States