Broccoli Chicken Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Like another user said, this is the Chicken Divan I on which I grew up. With my changes (the same or similar to others) this dish is truly PERFECT! First, only use 2 cans of cream of chicken soup, with 1 C of sour cream, and 1 C of mayonaise. I added 3 t of curry (I simply can not imagine less) as well, and doubled the lemon juice. As for the chicken, I boil then debone an entire chicken, then shred all meat but the breast, which I save for other recipes. I also add a can of chopped, water chestnuts. If you have not tried this addition, some people say it makes the dish! Per another user's recommendation, I layered all of this over 4 cups of cooked, white rice. This just puts it over the top, as the rice is more flavorful than if served over the rice cooked separately. On top, I do a layer of buttered breadcrumbs with a light coating of Parmesan cheese. I suppose my recipe looks much different than this original now that I see all of my changes, but I will post this here in hopes it will be a blessing to someone who is wanting to make the most scrumptious dish of broccoli chicken casserole they have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
My husband loves this one! I boil the chicken first and shred it with a fork instead of chunks. Also, I don't heat the soup mixture -- just layer shredded chicken, frozen broccoli then the soup/mayo/curry concoction and top with cheese. The whole thing gets thrown in the oven for about an hour until it's all hot and I have time to do homework, etc. while it's cooking. I serve with hot sticky steamed white rice. One more thing -- low fat cream of chicken soup works great--no taste difference and hopefully a little healthier. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
By all means, PLEASE use the Curry! I've made this dish every Thanksgiving for the past 20 years with leftover turkey. My finicky family loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by By the Lake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Alabama, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
All the ingredients for a great dish are in here, but the preparation is not quite right. Firstly, you'll get a lot more flavour in the chicken if you bake it or fry it in some olive oil and season it with salt and pepper. Also, rather than cooking the sauce beforehand, just pour all the ingredients together (once the broccoli and chicken have been pre-cooked) and bake it for 30 to 35 minutes total. Also, mix the cheese into the sauce mixture rather than just sprinkling it over the top. If it had been done this way, it would have been 5 stars for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hunter's Mom 2008

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This recipe was so yummy! I followed the directions for the most part, but made a few changes. I did add more cheese than called for, as my family loves cheese. I boiled some egg noodles and mixed them in with the rest of the ingredients. Turned out great!!!! I will make again, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I'm so happy! been looking for this recipe for 30 years since I lost the original I had! (One of the 1st things I learned to cook, so remembered it fondly!) I cut in half, used 1 can of soup and frozen broccoli since I never have fresh. Actually kept curry amount at 1 tsp. - this is the ONLY dish I have ever eaten in which I like curry - ! yum!! :) Can't give it 5 stars cause it's SO not-pretty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
very good i didnt cook the broclie or chicken first just baked it longer and added cream of mushrom to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I think this would be good with another spice instead of the curry and maybe one can of Cream of Broccoli/Celery/Mushroom substituted for one of the Cream of Chicken soups. I give it only 2 stars because as-is it was just not a big winner in our house. I usually love curry, but it just didn't match well with this creamy broccoli/chicken dish. It was easy to make and like another reviewer I put rice in the bottom of the casserole and that was a good addition, but overall, not a great taste. I may try again with a different spice, a different soup and the rice at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Pretty good, but I like my altered version better. I only used 2 cans of soup, cut back to 1 tsp. lemon juice and 1/2 tsp. curry powder. I layered the bottom of the pan with rice before putting it in oven. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This recipe is fast and easy and the curry makes a nice flavor. It reminds me of a recipe my mother-in-law taught my husband. I added two to three cups cooked rice to the sauce and chicken before cooking, which makes it go farther and makes the rice more flavorful, if you're going to serve it with rice anyway. I also didn't use as much mayo. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States