Broccoli Chicken Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Pretty good basic recipe. It does need some tweaking. We added a lot more curry, and made some other adjustments, but it is a good starting place for chicken and Broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This has been a favorite of mine for years, with one small change. I always sprinkle bread crumbs on top of the cheese, maybe a cup? (I never measure, so I'm not sure) It makes the top nice and crunchy. It also works as a vegetarian meal -- just substitute more broccoli or cauliflower for the chicken, and cream of broccoli soup in place of the cream of chicken. I use it this way as a great Lent meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
very tatsty. I did add extra curry, and corn - oh and I used sour cream instead of mayo and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJARVIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I prepared this last night and it was delicious. the only thing I did different was that I used meat from a leftover deli roasted chicken, I removed skin and cut in pieces. I always follow a recipe exactly the first time. Then, if we feel it needs a little something, then I change according to our tastes. How can you rate a recipe, when you have changed it. It is not the same recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New London, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I gave my leftovers to the neighbor, but I THINK I may have liked it if I didn't follow the advice to add extra curry, I should have cut it back from the 1t even, so it's a matter of personal taste, I did take someones advice and stirred in brown rice, which seemed to make it a more complete meal. May try again with WAY less curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa in Tucson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I followed this recipe for the most part, but also used some of the advice from other reviewers and used a little more curry in the dish. I also seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, a little curry and garlic powder. I added some olive oil to a pan and cooked the chicken. This really added loads of flavor to the chicken. I also used frozen broccoli which I steamed first. All the other ingredients were the same. Then, with about 8 minutes left to cook, I sprinkled on french onion rings. Put it back in the oven to finish cooking and Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Thank you for posting this! With a few alterations this is the "Chicken Divan" recipe I've been trying to recover for years: Increased curry to 3T and increased the lemon juice to 4T. My "old" recipe used two cans (not three) of cream of mushroom soup versus cream of chicken, so I used that instead and added one cup of sour cream. Three cans of soup plus the sour cream is just too much liquid, but the addition of sour cream is a MUST, in my opinion. I did not heat the soup mix prior to baking (and added a handful (about 1/4 cup) of shredded cheddar to the soup mix). Sprinkled remaining cheddar (plus some extra) on the top, and then a layer of fine breadcrumbs (1/4 cup) on top of the cheese, dotted with butter. This creates it a delicious, thin "crust" on top. Increased cooking time to 30 minutes. Our favorite way to enjoy this is over lightly buttered and salted egg noodles. This is great alternative for those that don't care for rice, and you can still enjoy every ounce of the scrumptious sauce!! My husband was thrilled that I found our new Chicken Divan "standard" recipe, and this will probably be on our table about once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I've made a very similar recipe for years. I use only 2 cans of soup, 1 cup mayo, 1 cup sour cream and seasoned salt as I don't like curry. I pre-cook the broccoli and chicken, stir other ingredients (including shredded cheese) together, pour over and bake 40 minutes. Sometimes I put bread crumbs on top drizzled with butter before baking. My brother has been making this at his fire station for years and it's a family favorite too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This dish was an instant favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I followed the suggestions of others and did the 2 cans of cream of chix and upped the curry! I added one cup IMO sour cream (sour cream substitute) and made a crumb topping with bread crumbs, butter and shredded cheese. We are an Asian family so EVERYTHING goes with rice! : ) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIGHTROAD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States