Broccoli Chicken Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
MAKE IT A 5 STAR RECIPE WITH THESE TIPS!! (I made this by the recipe before, & it was too bland!) Ok -- didn't boil the chicken, I cooked on stove with 1/2tsp paprika. Then, make it with cream of chicken &cream of mushroom. OMIT THE MAYO! Put 3/4 milk in instead! Mix soup w/1 minced garlic clove, 1/8 tsp onion powder, a tiny pinch of ginger - you don't want too much, cause it's potent, & 1/8 tsp italian seasoning. And then, skip layering everything! Just stir it all in the bowl that you stirred the soup in, it's a lot easier!...But put the cheese on top. & just a note -- I didn't have stuffing mix, so I just crumbled corn flakes on top, then sprinkled italian style breadcrumbs! That'll make it a 5-star recipe for ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1564 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I've made the recipe twice in the past week.... The first time I added some of the ingredients suggested in the reviews: I used an extra can of soup, subbed 1/2 can of milk for the mayo, added an extra cup of cheese so that one was mixed in the casserole while the other cup topped it, and I cooked the chicken in chicken broth seasoned with chicken seasoning. I also used a whole box of stuffing mix and cooked it before topping it on the casserole and added sauteed mushrooms in the mix. It was good but needed some tweaking The second time around was a hit. My boyfriend said he liked it better than the first and my sorority sisters inhaled the dish at our potluck last night. One sister told me it was the best casserole she'd ever had and another has already asked for the recipe...the trick is instead of topping the casserole with the cheese and stuffing, mix it ALL together. Then I topped the whole thing with bread crumbs. It was so much better than with the stuffing on top. Oh yeah...and I added yet ANOTHER cup of cheese. Needless to say, no more tweaking is necessary. Awesome, and thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
808 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
OK...I made this tonight for the first time and had to hightail it to the computer to give it a rating because it was SO fantastic! I took a little advice from other users to make it better. I used approximately 1/2 of a leftover roasted chicken, 1 bag of mixed frozen broccoli, cauliflour, & carrots(instead of just broccoli), 2 cans cream/chicken soup(in place of 1 can cream/mush), 3/4 cup milk (in place of mayo), and 1 cup bread crumbs mixed w/2 Tbls. melted butter for the topping (instead of stuffing). I also added 1/2 tsp. chopped garlic, 1/8 tsp. onion powder, 1/8 tsp. Italian seasoning, and 3 shakes of cumin to the soup/cheese mixture. Everyone in the house raved about this dish! It fed one hungry husband, two hungry teenage boys, and 1 hungry mom...with a little left over for lunch tomorrow. :) This recipe is a keeper! Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
584 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
With modifications, this casserole does not disappoint the taste buds . I boiled the chicken with a can of chicken broth, 1/2 a can of cream of chicken soup, and a little bit of water. I also added some chopped garlic, salt, and pepper to the boiling water. Once boiled, I cut the chicken into cubes. I then combined the boiled mixture with the mayo, the cream of mushroom soup, and mixed in the cubed chicken. I also mixed in the broccoli. I followed the recipe from that point. Others have posted that the chicken was bland and dry but if done this way, you'll have great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I made this tonight and was pleased with it. Even my SUPER picky 5 yr. old cleaned his plate!!! My husband who usually HATES casseroles liked it as well. This is what I did: I used 2 cans cream of chicken instead of 1 cream of mushroom, I used half a can of milk instead of mayo, I used chopped broccoli (comes frozen), and I cooked the stuffing mix before placing it on the casserole. I also mixed the soup, milk, chicken and broccoli before placing in casserole dish. I covered it with the cheese and then the cooked stuffing. It was good this way, but i will make some changes...I will use more cheese (maybe 2 cups), 2 cans of cream of mushroom, and use 2 boxes of stuffing mix instead of one. My 5 year old said he wanted more of the bread and i agreed. Oh, I boiled the chicken in chicken broth with a bay leaf. This is a good, quick meal. I am making a meal for a woman at my church next week and I will use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
We really enjoyed the recipe. I did make a few changes... I added an extra can of soup... and additional cheese (we love cheese) 2 cups...cut broccoli into smaller pieces...used ritz crackers in place of stuffing... and added seasoning to the top before using melted butter to seal in the flavor (1/2 stick)... oh and a layer of rice to the bottom for a full meal deal. I also mixed all the main ingredients together before layering it over the rice and topping with ritz, garlic salt,powder and pepper. A definate do-over in our house. Good Luck to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This is a great base for a broccoli casserole. I did several things different. First thing I did was boil chicken broth, water, chicken cube and two crushed garlic cloves to a boil. I added about six frozen chicken strips to the water and boiled for 10 minutes. While that was cooking I sauteed half a onion and about 4 cloves of garlic in evoo, then added one can of cream of chicken and one can of cream of broccoli to the onions an garlic and reduced to low. when the chicken was done, i scooped it out and placed it on paper towles to drain. Then added a bag or frozen broccoli,califlower/carrot mix to the chicken stock and boiled for a few minutes. I shredded the chicken added it to the cream of chicken mixture along with the drained veggies. mixed it all up then put it in the baking pan with the cheese topping and crackers. OMG! SOOOO GOOD!! Thanks for this, I've never made casserole before and this was just the perfect recipie to get me going!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexanders804

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This was great! But, I did a few things different: I added a can of cream of chicken, 1/4 tsp of pepper and garlic powder, and 1/4 cup of white wine. I used the stuffing mix out of the bag and dotted with butter. It was sooo good! This is definetely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
I made this last night even though it is not a "summer dish", but my husband loves casseroles. He loved it!!! I made some changes due to other reviewer's suggestions. I used a can of cream of chicken soup + a can of low fat broccoli cheese (its true.....one can of soup would definately have turned out too dry....use two!) and substitued half a can of milk for the mayo. I also prepared the stuffing and then topped it. It turned out perfect!! The flavors were wonderfully soothing, and the stuffing on top was neither too dry nor too moist, just right. My husband says he "felt healthy" b/c he was actually enjoying a dish with vegetables! Definately a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
5 stars. I find it annoying when people change nearly the ENTIRE recipe when reviewing it. Rude. Delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States