Broccoli Chicken Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I made this last night...this recipe needs A LOT of work! It's a good starting point, but if I make this again I will add more cheese, salt & pepper, other spices, and use Pepperidge Farm Stuffing that comes in the blue bag, topped with 1 stick of melted butter and a cup of chicken broth. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I love this recipe & I read many of the comments left by others, but I put my own twist on the recipe. Hubby is allergic to MSG, so I try to avoid cream soups but.... we eat them sometimes. I used 5 diced chicken tenders & 1/2 cup shredded turkey, 1 can of cream of chicken soup, 1 cup sour cream, 1/2 c milk, 2 c. shredded colby jack cheese, and 1 package stove top stuffing, made up. I mixed the soup, sour cream & milk together, & spread it on the bottom of 9x13 pan, then spread 2 heads cooked broccoli florets over that, then half the cheese, then the stuffing then the rest of the cheese. I covered it with foil, then last 5 minutes of cooking time I removed the foil and broiled the cheese.. Next time I make this dish, I plan to make a [from scratch] white sauce w/ chopped mushrooms and make rest of dish the same except for the stuffing, I will omit the stuffing and use cracker crumbs & melted butter -- to make a more MSG-friendly dish for my hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I make a close variation of this often: cream of chicken soup and cubed bread instead of the stuffing mix, although I have used the stuffing mix. I usually use about 1/4 cup of milk in the soup as well. I didn't have enough broccoli when I made it this week so I preboiled some carrots and a little bit of cauliflower and added along with the broccoli. IT WAS DELICIOUS and I may make it this way all the time now. Oh, I also add about a teaspoon of curry spice! (I'm a throw things together kind of cook)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
My family loved this casserole. I made a few changes to use what I had on hand; cream of chicken soup, a few added veggies that I had from a veggie tray..celery, carrots and pea pods. I also used a whole box of low sodium Stove Top Stuffing for chicken and drizzled 1/4 c. melted butter over all since I used more dressing mix and didn't want it to be dry. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by handycookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
All 3 of my kids said they liked it, yay! That's really the ultimate goal for me. I didn't plan this recipe ahead of time, so I just used what I had on hand. So, I swapped frozen broccoli for fresh. Then I also added a can of cheddar broccoli soup because it seemed like it needed more "sauce." I also substituted sour cream w/ mayo because i didn't have any mayo on hand. I was able to whip this up ahead of time and then take my kids to sports and still have dinner ready to go afterwards....which is so great for busy parents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I have made this easy recipe for 40 years. I no longer use cream of mushroom soup, however, using bechamel instead. I also add sliced almonds for texture and flavor. I have also added carrots for color, vitamins, flavor and texture. Creative cooks can take this recipe and make it their own by "tweeking" it to suit their tastes. Cooking is all about pleasing yourself, friends, and family with delicious, healthy food. PLAY WITH YOUR FOOD !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I saw the recipe pop up today on the allrecipes email and I just had to mention; I made this a couple of months ago for friends. They love casseroles and she had just come home from the hospital, so I wanted to make something easy she and the kids would enjoy. I had to laugh at some of the reviews where people didn't like it; as they clearly didn't read the recipe or follow the directions. It turns out very nice. Just as it should. My tweaks just for my tastes but are not necessary. I poached my chicken breasts in a herb broth which just gave it a bit more flavor; but again, basically the same thing. And cutting it in cubes or shredded; it comes out the same Make sure NOT to over cook the broccoli; but the chef did note that I used the low salt soup, just because I like to season my own food For the cheese I used a cheddar/montery jack blend; but again, you couldn't tell the difference I did season with plenty of pepper. And for the stuffing mix, I used Stove Top in the Canister; the Herb Blend One Suggestion: I may add a small onion diced next time ----------------------------- As you can see, none of my tweaks changed the taste of the dish or the texture; just a couple of personal preferences as well. It is a very nice easy recipe; and is very reliable, but as one poster said. If you are going to change everything and then don't give it a fair rating - that isn't right. Rate the recipe as is written. If you change every item, it isn't a fair review, IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
However you make this recipe, it is also wonderful if you add curry powder to taste. It's a very nice alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Great recipe. Make sure you like broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agr790

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adamsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dresden, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I have been making this for years only just a little different. I don't cook anything before I bake it. I layer my chicken then the broccoli, then cover it with swiss cheese, then a can of either cream of celery or cream of chicken soup. I then mix together 1 stick of butter and 2 cups of seasoned stuffing mix and put on top. Cover with foil and bake @350 for 1 1/2 hours. Salt and pepper the chicken. I haven't tried this recipe but had to give it a rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States