Broccoli Chicken Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
not a bad recipe to build on but to much tweaking is needed to give it a 4-5 star rating. My dry stuffing mix has no seasoning, I actually made the stuffing (to the dry side/just add less water), boiled chicken is also flavorless so I cooked it in a pan with salt, pepper and some Italian seasoning, changed mayo to miracle whip and used cream of chicken, added fresh thin sliced mushrooms and monterrey cheddar blend cheese since packaged cheddar is flavorless and greasy , mixed it all together and put it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was my all-time favorite meal when I was in high school. Whenever I came home from college I'd make my mother make it. Differences now? My mom used frozen broccoli. I buy my broccoli fresh and blanche it then shock it before using it in this dish. I sauteed my chicken instead of boiling it. That was a mistake. I recommend boiling the chicken because it will be more tender. I added a can of cream of chicken soup (because my 1 lb. of blanched broccoli had much more volume than frozen), and the 4 chicken breasts I used were huge. Because we like our casseroles a little creamier, I added 1/2 a can or about 1/2 cup of milk to the sauce mixture. Because there was canned mushroom soup in this recipe I added about 1 TBS rubbed dalmation sage and 1/4tsp cayenne pepper because these two seasonings really make canned mushroom soup more fancy and palatable. Last tip - Use Pepperidge farm stuffing for the topper. double it to 2 cuos, and drizzle one stick of melted butter over the top before baking. My bake time was 45 minutes instead of 30. Even then, it could probably have used an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I didn't care for this at all. The stuffing on top was very dry. I had leftovers and the next night I just added chicken broth on top of the stuffing and covered and warmed in the ove. That seemed to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mavis Tobin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I made this recipe following the tips of the first reviewer with the exception of adding the onion powder as I was out of that spice and I used stuffing instead of cornflakes. But, I have to say that I really didn't like this dish. The stuffing didn't taste good at all and it was way too creamy/soupy for me...not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewChefMelis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
My family loved it! I will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I added about 4 oz. of fresh sliced mushrooms and used a box of chicken flavored Stove Top Stuffing. I also added one can of Campbell's beefy mushroom soup for added moisture, which I feel is a must (or 2 total cans of cream of mushroom soup) if you decide to use an entire box of stuffing, like I did. I didn't layer, I just combined everything, covered the dish with foil so the stuffing wouldn't dry out and get crunchy on top, and cooked for 40 minutes. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
prepared 1 cup dry bread dressing with 2c. water and diced celery and onion that were sauteed in butter; sauteed chicken with garlic and paprika, added 1 cup skim milk to the condensed soup, omitted mayo, mixed soup-cheese-brocc-chicken together, topped with prepared bread dresssing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was awesome! I made a few changes however-- I used only 2 chicken breasts and browned them in butter then poured the 1 can soup w/ some black pepper and milk over them to finish cooking. I covered my broccoli with water to boil and threw in a couple small handfuls of egg noodles when the water came to a full boil. After about 6 min, drained my noodles/broccoli and poured into 9x13. Then shredded my chicken and poured the soup and chicken mixture in. I was out of cheddar, so I tore up a couple slices of deluxe american. Baked for about 10 min at 350 then threw on some french fried onions and baked a few mins more. The chicken wasn't dried out and the onions added some extra flavor and crunch. Great recipe. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsjag3990

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
One of my favorite recipes. I usually use crushed cheez-its instead of stuffing mix though. This recipe is also tasty if you add a dash of curry to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Harris Bowlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Delicious! I followed the advice of a few folks and combined one can cr of mushroom & one can cr of chicken. I used 2/3 c evaporated milk and threw in a few handfuls of shredded cheddar. (We love cheese!) I mixed everything together with a few dashes of dried onion and topped with a whole sleeve of crushed Ritz crackers. Drizzled 2 TB melted butter on top. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 626) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States