Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
LOVED IT! Yummmmy! I did make a rue with flour to add to the butter onion saute, that worked well instead of corn starch. I didn't add as much chicken broth, I used a food possessor to chop up some of the broccoli first, then added less processed cheese, added plenty of cheddar and half a brick of cream cheese, salt and pepper, and only 1 cup of milk. YUMMMMMY! Wish my belly were larger, cause I could totally have another bowl! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This is way to watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Haraske

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Really good but it needs tons of black pepper! I made these modifications: I used fresh broccoli (a big crown), I simmered it for about 20 minutes. I also used shredded sharp cheddar cheese (no cutting needed), I only used two cans of chicken broth (all I had) plus one and a half cup of water mixed with some chicken bouillon. I used 2 cups of a mix of half and half, whole milk and heavy cream (again, that was all I had). I added the garlic powder and some fresh garlic as well, lots of black pepper, a dash of salt, some dry parsley, dry mustard and some Italian seasoning because I felt it was a little bland. Next time I will use heavy cream only and maybe add the right amount of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Delish! I was a bit concerned with the amount of butter BUT it turned out soo good, I will definitely be making this again! The only thing I did differently was putting the broccoli with a can of broth in the blender on the lowest setting for about a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dear2hiw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I am doing liquid diet with my wife for her surgery and made this, I have never liked broccoli or onions before, but after a week of not eating any solids this was great! Only thing I changed was that I really chopped up onions and broccoli and sifted the soup after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard N Christie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
cornstarch is just kills this soup. A real roux is only a bit more work, but so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I made this for friends coming over and they and I loved it. Made according to directions. Exactly like a restaurant soup which is what I was aiming for. I think the trick is the Velveeta which makes it blend better than real cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
this one is easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Zapp Winningham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
My sister has made this for us on several occasions and it is amazing!! I just bought the ingredients & will be making my own batch to share with family. This soup is fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Stadtmuller Gad
Home Town: Egg Harbor City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Starlove3
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was simply perfect. We enjoyed every bite. We did make a few changes. We used 3 cloves of freshly chopped garlic instead of the garlic powder, used a bit extra cheese, and instead of water with the cornstarch we used chicken broth. We also added in shredded chicken from a leftover roast. We topped it off with bacon bits. We put the leftovers in containers and put them in the freezer for an easy meal in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlove3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,721) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States