Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
used dried minced onion instead of nice fresh onion...because I'm a dolt and keep forgetting to buy onions...added them to the melted butter and 2 minced cloves of garlic..added the chicken stock, 1 pkg of frozen broccoli florets, a splash of worcestershire and 1/4 cup of sherry..mixed 1/3 cup of corn starch with some half and half..put it into a cup and topped it off with more half and half..added it to the pot along with one more cup of half and half on its own.. pureed the bigger broccoli florets a cup at a time in the blender..added them back and used 4 kraft cheese slices torn into pieces and half a pkg of kraft pizza cheese mix...stirred it all around until the cheese was all melted..added a couple shakes of montreal steak spice too...so delish!! I didn't use garlic powder or the extra cup of water..Will be doubling this recipe next time and freezing some single portions..I think I'll stick with the dried minced onion too..I know that I love it this way, so I don't want to mess around with it..I know my steps sound like a lot of work but it only took 1/2 start to finish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyehgee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by nibejeebies
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I have made this many times, I have always left out the onion all together (had a family member allergic) and it has always come out perfect. Got my kids to start trying "little Xmas Trees" in a lot more recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This made a somewhat rich, very delicious Broccoli Cheese soup. I marginally adjusted the recipe by using two fresh broccoli heads finely chopped instead of frozen broccoli and two fresh cloves of garlic minced instead of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Amazing !!! I made it exactly as recipe stated and it was perfect and thick and rich. The flavor is amazing. It makes a big batch. The only thing I did extra was use a hand blender on it at the stage just before adding the velveeta. Perfect !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Very easy and heartwarming recipe! I made it and it tasted delicious. My flatmates also ate it and they liked it a lot, even asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heydinski
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
It was delicious! I also added the wine. The only substitution I made was add spinach stalks, just because I had them, I used real cheddar - not processed, and instead of cornstarch I thickened with potatoes. I pureed stalks and broccoli in the blender. I also added garlic to the onions while sautéing. I like butter and cream and since I didn't have milk I used 1/2&1/2. With a side of salad it was a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Excellent. Prepared as written but I did add cooked potatoes to it because we like a stew consistency. It was wonderful and so much easier than my other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
best broccoli soup ever. I added fresh broccoli and feel I should have added less starch but everyone loved it just the same. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gretel Lores
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I added nutmeg, used fresh broccoli and cheese sauce plus added cubed Colby cheese. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretel Lores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Very good and very easy. But, it is a bit bland for the first few days. I added more garlic powder, etc. to add flavor. Other than that, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina Dupertuis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,762) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States