Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Sauté fresh chopped garlic with yellow onion in butter or 1 Tbsp evoo. Add salt and pepper to taste. When the onion is caramelized, add the cornstarch water mixture and thicken into a rue. Add broccoli now. Gradually (slowly!) add chicken stock and milk so that it is creamy soup texture. Heat until broccoli is tender and add 1 lb shredded cheddar Jack. The cheese will melt evenly into your soup, then serve! For another kicked up veggie version, add shredded carrot and celery with your onions, and fresh corn with your broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Esculano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Very yummy! I only had a spicy Velveeta, but it did not make it spicy. It was actually really good, gave it a different kick. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Had some processed cheese on hand (not something I usually buy) and thought this was a good way to use it up. It was eaten without complaint by all my children and the 1 1/2 year old ate 3 whole bowlfuls. I still prefer recipes that use real cheddar but this was really quite good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa Neiding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This was a great starter recipe. As many folks, I sometimes need to be pointed in the right direction and this recipe did that for me. I made some modifications based on what I had in the house and my own personal tastes. I reduced the chicken broth to one 48-oz container of low-sodium broth. I added two cloves of crushed garlic to the sautéed onions. I used three 10-oz packages of frozen chopped broccoli. At the end of the cooking time, I made a few passes with the hand blender to smooth out the soup but not enough to eliminate the texture. When it came time to add cheese, I used one half pound cubed processed cheese food and one pound of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. And to finish the soup, I added one cup of heavy cream instead of milk. The final modification was that I used potato starch instead of cornstarch to thicken it. Yes, I know it’s not low-calorie or low-fat, but it sure was good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Very filling and delicious. Served in Italian Bread Bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FarmersWife
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Followed the directions as listed. No alterations, & it turned out delicious! It was so quick & easy. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
The basic soup was good but a little lacklustre for my family. I zipped it up with a little Gouda and some cheddar as well as a bit of dry mustard and a shot of whorchersteshire sauce. As well used a lot less cornstarch as the cheese thickened it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Loved it - with some modifications - I like my soup thick, but with slightly reduced cornstarch. I reduced the stock amount to 40oz total and added both the stock and 2 cups of skim milk in the second step. Right before I added the cheese I removed a few tablespoons of the liquid and stirred in 2 Tbsp of corn starch until smooth, then added that back along with cheese. used fresh broccoli added when the onions were almost done, added salt and pepper. Perfect and delcious - thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This was delicious. We used fresh broccoli and steamed it. Then we cut it up some more. We exchanged cream for milk. Loved it and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reyna Young Ulrich

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is delicious! I sauteed the chopped onion and broccoli in butter, along with a stalk of celery and a few carrots (chopped). Once the vegetables were softened, I added the garlic powder, a bit of ground pepper, and a pinch of salt. I added the chicken broth, brought it to a boil, and reduced it to a simmer for a couple minutes. Then I added the milk and American cheese, and stirred over low heat until the cheese melted. I thickened it with cornstarch and water, and added a pinch of saffron just before serving. I did not puree the soup. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tam Pruitt Schlueter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,745) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States