Broccoli Cheese Soup VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Made this recipe tonight for dinner. It was amazing! My daughter loves broccoli and this really hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Em

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Very quick and easy. I boiled one boneless chicken breast until done with chopped onion, a dash of celery seed, garlic powder, tsp sea salt and dash of pepper. I cooked the broccoli with it. In the milk mixture, I added a pinch of nutmeg. Shredded my chicken breast into the cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made the sauce and it came out the right consistency but when you add the broccoli and water it becomes way to runny. So after playing around with the flower to bring it back to the correct consistency I had to add more bullion cubes and other seasonings to give it flavor. I love the end result but next time I know to drain most of the water off before adding the sauce. Plus I used fresh produce and real cheddar cheese which I think helps with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I used flour instead of cream, mine came out a little lumpy. I'm still a fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Just made it. I used 1 cup of heavy cream, 2 cups of milk. I cooked my broccoli and then blended it up so it was thick and puree like. I didn't use the boullion, forgot that part! Whisked the cheese in slowly, and added broccoli puree slowly, adding broccoli water when too thick. Turned out really nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was a very pleasant soup. I made a few adjustments. I left out the bouillon so I went a little heavier on the pepper. I used 16 oz broccoli which I think worked well. I followed Amanda's recommendation to add the flour to the cold milk with no problems. I substituted shredded sharp cheddar for the processed cheese. I'm looking forward to a yummy lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
That's A LOT of cheese. It kind of takes over, flavor-wise. I love cheese, don't get me wrong, but the velveeta flavor is so strong you don't taste the broccoli much. My soup wasn't thick at all once I combined the broccoli in water w/the cheese sauce. Bummer. Wish I would've drained the broccoli completely before adding it into the cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I tried this recipe today. I used extra bouillon cubes, added onion, and subsituted cheddar cheese for processed (I hate processed cheese). It came out very thin and beyond bland. I will be trying a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This recipe was wonderful. I did tweak it a bit...I added some extra shredded colby jack and sharp cheddar cheese, and used fresh vegetables...added white onion and a clove of garlic. Used the new Velveeta Sharp cheddar processed cheese for the base and it was wonderful. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brijcalvo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was a last minute choice when I realized I didnt have the salad I wanted to make for dinner. I didnt use the processed cheese I used cheddar and I subbed evaporated milk for the heavy cream. I used 2% milk. This was ok I changed it based on what I had on hand. I thought it was salty but nobody else mentioned it. I served it with home made garlic croutons, a half baked potato each and leftover cucumber onion and tomato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States