Broccoli Cheese Soup VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I just made this soup, and I am disappointed. I should have not added very much of the water (from the broccoli) at all. I strained off some, but not enough. My soup is watery. It looked so good before I added the broccoli and water. Oh well, if I try this again, I will add the broccoli first, then slowly add water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Yummmm. Definately a five star recipe. I tried this recipe and it was great.Being in the hotel industry my husband's opinion is valued the most in our family. He liked it too. I made a slight change in the recipe though. I dint have cream , so i added little bit of coconut milk powder instead. Believe me it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Everyone loves this recipe. I used grated cheese instead of processed. I steamed 1 cup of fresh broccoli and put it in my blender with 3/4 cups water and chopped it there before adding it to the soup. That's the water I used, the blender water. It was great. I want to eat it every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This was a quick and easy soup to make. I added a total of 4 chicken bouillon cubes and also sauted about 1/4 onion, chopped, in 1 tbls butter first. I also used half and half in place of heavy cream. I wanted it a little thicker so I added a small amount of cornstarch/water mixture. It was quick and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was my first ever try at making Broccoli Cheese Soup and I made it for a group of 16 women! I tripled the recipe but had LOTS left over. I could have doubled it and there would have been plenty. They all loved it and told me it was better than Panera's! (a local favorite)I, personally, thought it could use a little more broccoli and I did not like the vague amount of water it called for in the recipe but I used commom sense and added just enough water to thin it out some. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Great for a cold, rainy, sleeting evening! I made this with what I had on hand: 12 oz broccoli, 3.5 cups whole milk, 2.5 cups shredded cheddar cheese, 4 cubes chicken boullion, and 1/3 cup flour. We loved it!! Very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I only had a small taste before serving it at a large family gathering. It was very good. The cheese didn't melt as fast as we thought but by the time it was served it was smooth and creamy. Really good soup. There was nothing left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This is a good recipe to encourage a reluctant broccoli eater especially if they like cheese. I have been trying to copy Quizno’s (a fast food place) broccoli cheese soup and this comes close. While the cheese was melting in a smaller pot, the frozen broccoli was simmering in a soup pot with the instant chix stock (I used 3t of chicken base like a previous reviewer)and the water used to reconstitute it, about 4 oz. Extra cheddar cheese and milk took the place of the cream since I rarely have it. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Rich and delicious and oh so easy. I added some green onion and used pre-grated sharp cheddar cheese. Didn't add the broccoli water because I wanted it really thick. I served this to company and they raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
OH MY GOSH this is such a wonderful easy and delicious soup. I can never get my kids to eat broccoli and I made this cause I was craving this soup and had the kids do a taste test, and they could not believe that broccoli taste that good...I did add 3 extra teaspoons of chicken boullion, and I also cut up 1 can of sliced potatoes in it and I omitted the water and we liked it cheesey so we added 3 1/2 cups of cheese...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liltrkrbabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States