Broccoli Cheese Soup VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I really liked this soup. I thought it tasted good. However, my husband, said he could taste the velveeta and the cream, and that it possibly needed more salt. It was very easy and quick to make. I served it with grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
We enjoyed this a bunch. I pretty much followed the recipe, except I didn't measure my broccoli or chicken bouillon base stuff, and I added more seasongs (dehydrated onion, dehydrated chives, garlic powder, black pepper). I served it with hot turkey sandwiches & red pepper jelly. I personally prefer this kind of soup made with cheddar but Velveeta is what was on hand, so I'm glad I gave this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I was reluctant to make this, because although I love broccoli cheese soup, my husband has never cared for it, and he said so! He said he would rather have a PBJ sandwich than this soup for dinner tonight! Well, I wanted it, so I whipped it up (So FAST-faster than the half hour it calls for!) and served it with little sourdough rolls that I hollowed out and filled with the soup. Guess who ate more than me?! Thats right...my husband couldn't get enough of the stuff! He said its definitely a keeper! I used real shredded cheddar, reduced fat for the cheese, but did put in a few cubes of velveeta. I'll probably leave that out next time though, as I don't usually have it on hand. The Cheddar was excellent though. I would also recommend draining the broccoli first, then mix the soup together, then add water at the end to get it the consistency you like. Mine was too thick at first, like a cheese sauce, but a cup or 2 of water was all it needed. YUMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Very cheesey and good. A simple recipie too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by California Cookin'
Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I used more brocolli and added a couple potatoes - shreaded on a grater. My husband and I both loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canby, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
What a great recipe! This soup was quick & easy to make, with practically no clean-up afterwards. I used low-fat milk & reduced-fat cheese and also omitted the heavy cream, and it still turned out to be delicious and filling. I also added a few fresh mushrooms to the broccoli when it was cooking, just because i had them on hand. I served this soup as a main dish with a side of cornbread, and it made a great dinner on a chilly evening. As an added bonus, it didn't hurt my budget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This recipe was a huge hit at my house!!! I tasted really cheesy and just like the Quiznos soups but a little better!!! The only suggestions I will make is add an extra chicken boullion cube without it the soup is a little bland. After it's all together add some Tony's...it gives it a little kick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
3 cups milk no cream 1lb velveeta no salt or pepper add bacon it was a little runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I used a 16 oz. bag of frozen chopped broccoli and shredded cheddar instead of Velveeta. Turned out great! Thick and rich and very comforting! Serve with a small salad and good bread for an excellent week-night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This soup was very good and I was surprised that it had a sweet flavor to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandiswan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States