Broccoli Cheese Soup VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This was really easy and it doesn't contained processed cheese food (the reason I chose this recipe.) I took some other reviewers' advice and used diced onion in place of the flakes, and made a kind of roux with butter and flour before I added the broth and cheese. I added just a dash of garlic powder, also. I used part colby jack and part cheddar to get them out of my fridge, and it turned out beautifully. Just love that this doesn't use that cheese loaf stuff. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I added more cheese as per other reviews. Also, I used turkey stock, added a packet of onion soup mix, some english rib rub, more pepper, and 1/2 lb of frozen corn. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
very good. It actually took a while to find a recipe that didn't use some hideous process cheese or can of soup in it. Soup recipes from scratch are always the best. I added some garlic powder and I doubled the cheese to 8 oz. I also used 2 cups half and half instead of the 1 cup water. I like soups REALLY creamy. I will definitely make this again. Maybe with a couple more alterations. This is a great soup for doing your own thing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
It was absolutely delicious! I used Vegetable broth because that is what I had on-hand. I also used fresh diced onions and cooked them in the butter, which I then used to create a roux with the flour before adding the milk. Next time, I will add chopped shredded carrots for a bit of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I did not follow the initial instructions for this recipe. Instead, I had my sister make a roux with the flour and butter (I lack the necessary dexterity to do it myself.) She cooked it for about 3 minutes or so. I then added some chicken stock and heavy cream and used the rest for blending with the broccoli. After adding and cooking the broccoli mixture for a few more minutes, I added the cheese. I didn't feel that 4oz of cheese would be enough so I ended up using about 16oz of cheddar cheese. By the time I was done, I realized that I had forgotten the onion. Overall, I think this recipe is a keeper. The end product was a little bland but it wasn't anything that a sprinkle of Mrs. Dash could not handle. I just think I will use half-and-half instead of heavy cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I made this soup but i omited the water, I added extra cheese,real onions and garlic sauted in butter first,then added the other things let it all cook for 10 minutes then added our own home grown broccoli, it calls for 4 cups but i used 8 cups ...... My husband and boys loved it...So this one is a keeper in our house....My name is Trish and i live in Lake Wylie, South Carolina!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I was not at all impressed with this recipe. I too had to make several adjustments. Not only was it still to watery, I also had to use three times as much cheese, garlic salt to taste and two sticks of butter to make the soup a bit more creamery. This was not the first time I've made Broccoli & Cheddar soup. Maybe next time I'll use a whipping cream instead of milk and omit the water. On the other hand maybe it'll be better the second day as other's have stated. But I do think I'll try the bacon next time also. Thanks for the suggestion Ms. K. Aileen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I'll be honest - I didn't measure anything in this recipe, and I used it mostly for inspiration, so take my opinion with a grain of salt (pun intended). I thought it was pretty good, but I know I put in a little more cheese than it called for. I used extra sharp cheddar, and I think that helped carry the cheesy flavor. I also added a little low-sodium soy and a smidgen of garlic powder for kick. I'll bet Worcestershire would work too. I used 2 C skim milk instead of the water and half and half, and I thickened it with some instant potatoes. Came out pretty thick, but I liked it. I also used real onion instead of dried. I'll definitely be making this again for another chilly fall day. Or when I need my kids to eat their broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I changed the cooking process around a bit. I was really hesitant to just wisk flour into a pot of ingredients as I really didn't want the flavor of flour to ruin my soup. I used four tablespoons of butter that I melted over medium high heat in my soup pot, then added the flour (reduced to four tablespoons) to make a roux. I cooked the roux to a golden brown before wisking in the chicken broth and half-n-half. Because I cut the flour back by half, I did NOT add the water. After the mixture had come to a boil, I wisked in the cheese a little at a time to prevent the cheese lumping up in the soup, then added in the onion flakes and chopped broccoli. The end result was nice though I do think it could use more cheese. Even with the change in cooking process, this soup didn't take any longer than 15 minutes to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I rated this recipe 5 stars because I think the writer did a fantastic job of explaining how to make a broccoli cheese soup using fresh and natural ingredients. I have to admit, I made this recipe adding my own twist to it. I will include my changes and additions below. First, I sauteed half a finely chopped one, one large stick of finely chopped celery, and 1/4 of a red bell pepper, diced. I sauteed them using a small amount of olive oil, and threw in about tablespoon of minced garlic just as they began to sweat. I also used 1 cup of heavy whip because I had that on hand, and it needed to be used. I omitted the water, and instead used 1 cup of 2% milk. I did use a quart of chicken stock and the flour. I also used fresh broccoli, uncooked broccoli as opposed to frozen or previously cooked. I also through in 1 tsp. of dried minced onion, 1 tsp. dried parsley, and doubled the cheese. I know the red bell pepper, celery, and parsley might sound a little wild, but if you are looking to jazz this recipe up, that really did the trick! Thank you to the writer for a great basic recipe on cooking with cheddar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rozekitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States