Broccoli Cheese Soup VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Really simple recipe! I added cheese to the top when serving. I also sweated down fresh chopped onion before adding the other ingredients. I will definitely keep this in the cool weather bag for those chilly days to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Graham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
AMAZING soup, and definitely a very easy recipe. I only changed one thing; I followed a previous commenter's suggestion (littleaudrey), and used fresh onion instead of minced, and while I was cooking the onion I added some garlic. I did not have any half and half on hand (discovered this after I had started...ooops), so I used 1 1/2 cups of 2 % milk, with 2 TBSPN's each of corn starch and flour whisked into it. It still came out with a nice, smooth, creamy consistency. (I did reduce the 1/2 cup of flour suggested, to 1/4 cup, because I was afraid it would be too much with the milk mixture). This soup was delicious, and I will definitely be making it over and over again. I suggest having french bread slices with some butter as a side....SO good dipped into the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is such wonderful soup! I tend to use lots more cheese than the recipe calls for and barely cook the broccoli because I hate mushy vegetables. Really good recipe that calls for natural cheese, not the processed stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. A waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
It was ok. It needed something. I followed it step by step. The consistency was good but it was lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica New Alford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
yum yum yum!!! I used a hand blender to chop up the broccoli a little finer. I also made a 3 cheese blend with some leftover white chedar & parmasean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
tHIS WAS GREAT SOUP!! IT'S A KEEPER THANKS MARY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I've made this several times. Double the cheese. Use fresh finely diced onion instead of dry flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This recipe is a good starting point but I wouldn't have liked it if I'd stopped where the recipe instructions did! It needs pureed to meet my expectations of broccoli cheese soup. To include that step, I added the broccoli to the broth/flour mixture but waited to add the cream and the cheese. Once the broccoli was tender, I scooped it into my blender with a slotted spoon and added some of the liquid and zipped it up until smooth and returned it to my pan. Then I added the cream and cheese. I agree with those who say it needs more cheese, I added probably double the amount (until I could taste it in the soup). Depending on your broth, you will definitely need to add salt as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Great recipe! I made a few changes - I took a tip from the other comments and added more cheese and instead of onion flakes I sauted a chopped medium onion with a half a clove of garlic and a little water before adding the chicken broth (which I allowed to simmer with just the onions garlic and a little pepper for a little while to soften the onions) - I Love that this recipe called for REAL cheddar not "processed cheese product", and fresh broccoli! I used a mild cheddar but I probably should have mixed it with a sharper cheddar, even so the flavor was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA
Living In: Lyons, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States