Broccoli Cheese Soup VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Awesome! I loved that this one used cheddar cheese instead of cheese food ( Velveeta ). This is a great recipe! I tweaked it just a little by adding onions and garlic powder to it, to bring out the taste. It was awesome! Keep 'em coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Croy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North English, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was the best recipe. I fed a large youth group and got rave reviews. I liked it because it used regular cheese. I made the sauce, then put it in a crockpot and added the broccoli and let it simmer (I parboiled the broccoli first). I was worried since it didn't make a rue first, but it turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
We loved the taste and it's so easy. It was a little watery- I might add less water next time. I doubled the cheese, added a little more onion. Also, I added a couple of drops of Tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made this recipe twice now. I am giving the original recipe 4 stars because it was good but not great. The second time I made it I took the advice of others and used fresh onion and sauteed that with some garlic and doubled the cheese. This time, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Delicious and not too heavy either. I really liked it because it is one of the few recipes that I found that didnt call for processed cheese like Velvetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I followed other reviewers' advice and doubled the cheese (one 8 oz brick of cabot sharp white cheddar, which I shredded into the pot) and added 5 slices of organic american cheese to help with texture. I used @5 cups of homemade organic turkey and chicken stock in place of the broth and water, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The texture was perfect and flavor was quite good. My 3 year old, who generally turns up his nose at any soups or veggies ate quite a bit and told me how great it was. My 5 year old said it was as good as Panera and my husband loved it. Thanks for the recipe. It is nice to find a good recipe using just regular ingredients and no nasty chemical-laden canned condensed soups or processed "cheese food!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was a wonderful and easy soup. My family loved it. It was a little to watery and extra cheddar did not solve this. So I added instant potato flakes until it thickened up and added more seasonings, then served it in bread bowls. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
The soup was great. I did double the cheese and use a potato masher just a bit in the end to break the broccoli up a bit. Heated well and tasted great the next day to boot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Doubled the cheese, and will add more next time. Came out thin, so I added potato flakes to thicken. I think next time I'll delete the water. With even mor cheese, maybe I won't need the potato flakes next time. Also added shredded carrots, which added color as well as flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Great recipe! We had it in bread bowls from Panera Bread. Since I had some I wanted to use up, I used two cups of heavy cream instead of 1 cup of H&H + one cup of water. We also used about 6 cups of cheese instead of just 4, a mixture of good cheddar, gruyere, and parmesan. We didn't have any onion flakes, so we just sauted some onions before adding the broth. We also added some cooked pasta to it to give it some bulk and stretch it. Very tasty! We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States