Broccoli Cheese Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I made this as written, except that I used 1 head of cauliflower and 1 32 ounce bag frozen broccoli. It is very good, thick and creamy. I will try it again, using another reviewers idea of using 1/2 cheddar cheese and 1/2 velveeta. That sounds even yummier. This is a no fail recipe and you can tweek it however, you wish. This is definitely a keeper. Restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tndrhrt64

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My boyfriend loved this soup. I didn't add the onion in. I used 6 chicken bouillon cubes and 6 cups of water to make the chicken broth. I used Velveeta cheese also. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I've made this recipe several times now and we love it. I did add some chopped carrots in with the onions, about 1 cup and sauteed them together. Like raerae83 suggested I do this all in one pan. After sauteeing I stir in the flour and the slowly mix in cold broth and milk until the flour is dissolved into the liquids. I then add my broccoli, this time I'm using frozen flowerettes in place of the chopped stuff. I don't like finding those woody stems in my soup and sometimes the chopped has them. I simmer the soup until the carrots and broccoli are tender and then stir in the cheese until melted and heated through. I've also tried using 1 pound of veleeta and 1/2 pound of shredded cheddar. That should take care of the too velveeta-ey taste some complained of. Either way it's a great recipe. Thanks Melissa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Very tasty, the only thing I changed was I used 1 pound of velveeta and 1/2 pound of cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I was looking for something similar to the Broccoli Cheddar soup at Panera and this is it! I used 1 lb of Velveeta and 1/2 lb of cheddar, but otherwise I stuck to the recipe. I made sure that the milk got pretty thick before I added it to the broccoli and chicken broth, and then when everything was mixed together, I let it sit on medium heat for about 5-10 minutes to thicken it up. It was delicious... I wouldn't change a thing, and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbbyMP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Who knew broccoli cheese soup could was this easy to make? I love this recipe! Despite what others say I didn't think it was too velveeta-y. It's so creamy and cheesy...just perfect. I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen and made this in one pot. After sautéing the onion and mixing in the flour I added the liquid and broccoli to the same pot and let it all simmer together. This recipe does make a lot but leftovers heat up well and you can make all of your coworkers jealous by eating your homemade soup in front of them! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I was very pleasantly surprised by this one. I used fresh veggies leftover from a veggie tray for a baby shower (broccoli and cauliflower about 5 or 6 cups), onion powder instead of onions since I didn't have any, and a pound of Velveeta with half pound to a pound of shredded cheddar cheese. I also sauted 3 cloves of garlic with the butter and added some garlic powder (tip from another recipe). It turned out pretty good. I also made this in the crock pot instead of on the stove. I love broccoli and cheese soup but had never made it myself. This recipe now allows me to make it myself and enjoy it whenever I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This recipe is yummy! My family said it was better than Panera Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My husband and I love broccoli cheese soup but this was just cheese and more cheese. I made many changes to try to save the meal we were both looking forward to. In the end I had to toss the soup out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States