Broccoli Cheese Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I loved it! I read the reviews and followed some of the advise: I used half Velveeta, half cheddar, I adjusted the recipe for the number of people I was serving, and I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. It had great flavor, but I like more substance so for 4 servings I diced 3 medium sized potatoes, boiled them separately until they were soft and cooked through, drained the potatoes, quick rinsed them to remove excess starch, and added the potatoes to the finished soup. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Awesome!!! Added real cheddar and shallots, garlic and a smidge of cornstarch, 5 stars with these additions, 4 without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kriley71
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I used 2cans of cheddar cheese soup instead of velvetta, low sodium chicken broth, and 2 c of. Shredded cheddar cheese and it was selfish. I also added garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kriley71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Creedmoor, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was delicious! I changed it just a bit for preference....I substituted Velveeta with regular cheddar cheese, used butter instead of margarine, and halved the recipe. It was a huge hit with my family and tasted exactly like the soup you would get in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Great recipe! Although, I like less cheese in my soup, so I only added about 1 cup of cubed cheddar. Also,a great add is some spinach! An easy way to sneak in some protein without the kids or husband noticing. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
What a GREAT recipe! Not only was it easy and quick to make, it was delish! Will definitely make again. I tried to follow the recipe but was short on chicken broth....and was not going to the store. I used a 10 3/4oz can~cream of chicken soup mixed with 1 cup of water then added it to the broth. Family wants more! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I had some leftover steamed broccoli florets and garlic red-skin potatoes in the fridge and decided soup was the best way to use them up. I read a few recipes on this site and chose this one; I liked the idea of cooking the flour into the onions rather than adding it (or cornstarch) later with liquid. Since my broccoli was already cooked, I didn't simmer it in the chicken broth separately; I slowly added the broth to the thickened milk mixture then added the chopped-up broccoli once that was warmed through (along with my leftover potatoes). Seasoned with lots of pepper after I stirred in the cheese ... delicious. I think next time I will try it with a combination of Velveeta and cheddar, as some reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheriw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Very good tasting soup. My kids love it. I've also tried it with 1/2 cauliflower and 1/2 broccoli and that's good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Used fresh broccoli and it was excellent. Warning... once you add the cheese, don't go to far. I almost burnt mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOONIES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States