Broccoli Cheese Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is a very good recipe you can tweak. I have made it quite a few times. Unless you LOVE Velveeta, I would highly recommend using half cheddar cheese (otherwise your soup will taste more like Velveeta cheese dip). I always use 1 pound of velveeta and 1/2 - 3/4 pounds of cheddar and I always end up with restaurant quality soup. Also, remember to constantly stir the milk mixture "until it thickens" and you will have a nice and smooth, thickened soup. I do not use white pepper but put in a dash of regular pepper. Substituting a good portion of the velveeta with cheddar makes a great tasting, quality soup. My family loves it - even my three kids. I rate this 5 stars with the addition of cheddar. If I rated this using all Velveeta then the rating would have been 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
595 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Ok, this is REALLY good, I'm eating it as I type. A few things...1) it makes A LOT. If you don't want enough for 10 people, half the recipe. 2) When you add the onion/flour/milk mixture to the broccoli, it looks TOTALLY unappetizing! Just keep plugging along ;). 3) You will think that you're adding an ungodly amount of cheese, but the recipe can handle it. It's not overly cheesy. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This is very yummy. I read all the broccoli cheese soup recipes on this website and decided this is the one i would try. It was a great choice. Made it just as written but added one clove minced garlic with my onions. I will be making this again but will cut it in half since it made way more than what my family would consider a serving size. More like 10-12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This is a WONDERFUL soup. I made a few changes: I used fresh broccili and boiled it in the chicken broth for 30 minutes, I used one large can (48oz) of chicken broth, I only used 1 lb of Velvetta. My husband thinks of this more as a broccili bisque, and my two toddlers LOVED it. It makes a lot, several full meals worth but it is so simple and SO VERY good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Such a great recipe! I have also substituted two cans of cheddar cheese soup for the Velveeta in a pinch...it worked great! We keep making this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This was wonderful! I did add a couple cloves of minced garlic and pureed some of the broccoli and put it back in the soup. My whole family loved this recipe!!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Yum, used fresh broccoli and added potatoes too. The kids loved it, Thanks Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Guests for dinner tonight and there were lots of compliments for this soup around the dinner table! I did make some changes that I believe were improvements - butter rather than margarine for its superior flavor, fresh broccoli rather than frozen (cooked easily and lickety-split in the microwave) a clove of garlic and a mix of 2/3 Velveeta and 1/3 Cheddar. I cooked the broccoli in advance and set it aside. Sweated the onion in butter, added the garlic, then the broth and milk. Once it thickened just a little I lowered the heat and slowly stirred in the cheeses, then gently stirred in the broccoli. Excellent soup - creamy, rich and satisfying. Since we're leaving town again, our guests were only too happy to have the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This soup was wonderful, I cut it in 1/3 and it was perfect for 2. I also added garlic and crushed red pepper to give it a little kick. I'll definately make it again, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This is an excellent recipe if you remember to follow the recipe exactly. It does work out very well if you do that. I was looking for a recipe to use what I had on hand and this was it. It is a quick, good tasting, easy to make recipe. I would suggest this recipe to many of my friends and I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States