Broccoli Cheese Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is a very good recipe you can tweak. I have made it quite a few times. Unless you LOVE Velveeta, I would highly recommend using half cheddar cheese (otherwise your soup will taste more like Velveeta cheese dip). I always use 1 pound of velveeta and 1/2 - 3/4 pounds of cheddar and I always end up with restaurant quality soup. Also, remember to constantly stir the milk mixture "until it thickens" and you will have a nice and smooth, thickened soup. I do not use white pepper but put in a dash of regular pepper. Substituting a good portion of the velveeta with cheddar makes a great tasting, quality soup. My family loves it - even my three kids. I rate this 5 stars with the addition of cheddar. If I rated this using all Velveeta then the rating would have been 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
591 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Ok, this is REALLY good, I'm eating it as I type. A few things...1) it makes A LOT. If you don't want enough for 10 people, half the recipe. 2) When you add the onion/flour/milk mixture to the broccoli, it looks TOTALLY unappetizing! Just keep plugging along ;). 3) You will think that you're adding an ungodly amount of cheese, but the recipe can handle it. It's not overly cheesy. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This is very yummy. I read all the broccoli cheese soup recipes on this website and decided this is the one i would try. It was a great choice. Made it just as written but added one clove minced garlic with my onions. I will be making this again but will cut it in half since it made way more than what my family would consider a serving size. More like 10-12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This is a WONDERFUL soup. I made a few changes: I used fresh broccili and boiled it in the chicken broth for 30 minutes, I used one large can (48oz) of chicken broth, I only used 1 lb of Velvetta. My husband thinks of this more as a broccili bisque, and my two toddlers LOVED it. It makes a lot, several full meals worth but it is so simple and SO VERY good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Such a great recipe! I have also substituted two cans of cheddar cheese soup for the Velveeta in a pinch...it worked great! We keep making this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This was wonderful! I did add a couple cloves of minced garlic and pureed some of the broccoli and put it back in the soup. My whole family loved this recipe!!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Yum, used fresh broccoli and added potatoes too. The kids loved it, Thanks Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Guests for dinner tonight and there were lots of compliments for this soup around the dinner table! I did make some changes that I believe were improvements - butter rather than margarine for its superior flavor, fresh broccoli rather than frozen (cooked easily and lickety-split in the microwave) a clove of garlic and a mix of 2/3 Velveeta and 1/3 Cheddar. I cooked the broccoli in advance and set it aside. Sweated the onion in butter, added the garlic, then the broth and milk. Once it thickened just a little I lowered the heat and slowly stirred in the cheeses, then gently stirred in the broccoli. Excellent soup - creamy, rich and satisfying. Since we're leaving town again, our guests were only too happy to have the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This soup was wonderful, I cut it in 1/3 and it was perfect for 2. I also added garlic and crushed red pepper to give it a little kick. I'll definately make it again, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This is an excellent recipe if you remember to follow the recipe exactly. It does work out very well if you do that. I was looking for a recipe to use what I had on hand and this was it. It is a quick, good tasting, easy to make recipe. I would suggest this recipe to many of my friends and I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States