Broccoli Cheese Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I knew I would be freezing part of this soup, so I went about this a little differently. I never add milk or cheese before freezing so here’s what I did. I simmered the broccoli in only two cans of chicken broth. Once I added the flour to the sautéed onions, I added the third can of broth, instead of the milk, and then added that back to the broccoli mixture. At this point I stopped and packaged this for the freezer. Once thawed, I began re-heating and added the milk. I also cut way back on the Velveeta and just added about two ounces to two servings. This was good and using frozen chopped broccoli really saved a lot of time. I did think it needed some salt, but that’s an easy fix. UPDATE 12/9/13 - We had this again last night and I am changing my star rating from 4 stars to 5. The second time around (last night) was much better than the first. I'd advise making this at least a day in advance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was great! At first I thought it would be hard, but ended up not being that bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was delicious. My whole family loved it. I did change like one of the previous reviewers and used a mix of cheddar and mozzarella instead of the processed cheese because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Just as good if not better than any restaurant's broccoli cheese soup! I did use only 1 pound of velveeta and then half a pound of cheddar, but did everything else to the letter. This is a great base too! I'll be using the leftovers to bake chicken in and then serve it over rice :-) thanks for the wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Made a few changes-simmered cauliflower and broccoli in chicken broth for soup. Also, I used fresh not frozen. I used a small loaf of velveeta, which I don't think is 1 1/2 lbs. And I added black pepper and nutmeg to the flour mixture instead of at the end. The whole family loved! My 3 yr old had 2 big bowls! I think next time I might add chopped carrots to it to add even more veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becky Smith
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This was a hit in my house. After reading some of the reviews, I adjusted the recipe to use fresh broccoli instead of frozen; added garlic & some pureed broccoli stalk to the onions & butter; used 1/2 pound velveet, 1/2 pound sharp cheddar cheese, and 1/2 pound mild cheddar cheese. All in all, a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was excellent - even better than I was expecting. I followed the recipe as written except I used fresh broccoli and butter in place of margarine. Even my kids liked this. Yea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
made cauliflower soup w video
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christahannahmelody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Outstanding soup. I backed off on the Velvedta and used alittle Mexican mix shredded cheese. I used 2lbs of fresh broccoli instead of the frozen and used salt free chicken stock. I loved this soup. Hearty, filling and very fresh tasting. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Very delicious! I used this as a guide because I only wanted to make half of this recipe. I will certainly make again. I added garlic, black pepper and red pepper as my season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States