Broccoli Cheese Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I reduced the recipe to two servings. It made more than enough for two. I substituted cheese wiz for velveeta. I used 1/2 wiz 1/2 cheddar. The soup didn't taste very cheesy so I added and additional 1/4 c of cheddar. It was what I had. I also substituted butter for margarine and added a garlic clove to the onions. Also, I used an additional tsp of flour. With all that being said the soup had a great consistency and appearance. It did seem to be missing something all the same it was very enjoyable and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mariposa-chan
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Amazing consistency and flavors! My mom and I worked on this together and love the results. I will definetely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Just made this and it is awesome! My daughter, who doesn't eat broccoli, loved it! I just made a third of it to try, and added minced garlic. Next time, I will make a full recipe. Thank you so much. This is a keepeer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
It was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I just made this recipe (eating some right now). I have tried a lot of broccoli cheese soup recipes and did not like them. This one is it. I also tweaked a few things...I used 1Lb velveeta and added shredded cheddar. I did not use onions but did add onion powder and garlic powder. I also melted the cheese into the milk mixture before putting it into soup.I will def use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I knew I would be freezing part of this soup, so I went about this a little differently. I never add milk or cheese before freezing so here’s what I did. I simmered the broccoli in only two cans of chicken broth. Once I added the flour to the sautéed onions, I added the third can of broth, instead of the milk, and then added that back to the broccoli mixture. At this point I stopped and packaged this for the freezer. Once thawed, I began re-heating and added the milk. I also cut way back on the Velveeta and just added about two ounces to two servings. This was good and using frozen chopped broccoli really saved a lot of time. I did think it needed some salt, but that’s an easy fix. UPDATE 12/9/13 - We had this again last night and I am changing my star rating from 4 stars to 5. The second time around (last night) was much better than the first. I'd advise making this at least a day in advance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was great! At first I thought it would be hard, but ended up not being that bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was delicious. My whole family loved it. I did change like one of the previous reviewers and used a mix of cheddar and mozzarella instead of the processed cheese because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Just as good if not better than any restaurant's broccoli cheese soup! I did use only 1 pound of velveeta and then half a pound of cheddar, but did everything else to the letter. This is a great base too! I'll be using the leftovers to bake chicken in and then serve it over rice :-) thanks for the wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Made a few changes-simmered cauliflower and broccoli in chicken broth for soup. Also, I used fresh not frozen. I used a small loaf of velveeta, which I don't think is 1 1/2 lbs. And I added black pepper and nutmeg to the flour mixture instead of at the end. The whole family loved! My 3 yr old had 2 big bowls! I think next time I might add chopped carrots to it to add even more veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States