Broccoli Cheese Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Wow this makes A LOT of soup. Do use your large stock pot. My husband made this and it turned out so delicious we couldn't stop taking "just one more bite" even though we were past full. The leftovers all got eaten today and still got raves. He only used half of a Texas sweet onion, unsalted butter and 2% milk. I added a hefty pinch of kosher salt to the onion gravy right before adding it to the broccoli soup. Delicious and easy. A new favorite here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I made this recipe as stated with the following exceptions: I used 1 lb of Velveeta and 8 oz of cheddar (instead of all Velveeta) and I added some garlic. It was very good made this way; creamy texture and lovely flavor. I am not sure we would have liked it as much made with all Velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Loved it and so did family! However i did make a few changes, Im not a big velveeta fan so i used half cheddar and half velveeta. Added garlic and potatoes... very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made this broccoli soup the other day and I couldn't eat it, it was terrible. YUK. From now on I will eat it at the restaurants it taste better..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Quick and easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I made this as written, except that I used 1 head of cauliflower and 1 32 ounce bag frozen broccoli. It is very good, thick and creamy. I will try it again, using another reviewers idea of using 1/2 cheddar cheese and 1/2 velveeta. That sounds even yummier. This is a no fail recipe and you can tweek it however, you wish. This is definitely a keeper. Restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tndrhrt64

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My boyfriend loved this soup. I didn't add the onion in. I used 6 chicken bouillon cubes and 6 cups of water to make the chicken broth. I used Velveeta cheese also. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I've made this recipe several times now and we love it. I did add some chopped carrots in with the onions, about 1 cup and sauteed them together. Like raerae83 suggested I do this all in one pan. After sauteeing I stir in the flour and the slowly mix in cold broth and milk until the flour is dissolved into the liquids. I then add my broccoli, this time I'm using frozen flowerettes in place of the chopped stuff. I don't like finding those woody stems in my soup and sometimes the chopped has them. I simmer the soup until the carrots and broccoli are tender and then stir in the cheese until melted and heated through. I've also tried using 1 pound of veleeta and 1/2 pound of shredded cheddar. That should take care of the too velveeta-ey taste some complained of. Either way it's a great recipe. Thanks Melissa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Very tasty, the only thing I changed was I used 1 pound of velveeta and 1/2 pound of cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I was looking for something similar to the Broccoli Cheddar soup at Panera and this is it! I used 1 lb of Velveeta and 1/2 lb of cheddar, but otherwise I stuck to the recipe. I made sure that the milk got pretty thick before I added it to the broccoli and chicken broth, and then when everything was mixed together, I let it sit on medium heat for about 5-10 minutes to thicken it up. It was delicious... I wouldn't change a thing, and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbbyMP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 592) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States