Broccoli Cheese Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
As written, this recipe is just ok, good consistency, but it just seemed a little "eh." To make it a bit more authentically "Wisco," and a lot less "eh," I did the following: Used a 32 oz carton of Kitchen Basics chicken stock (lower sodium than Swanson's Low-Sodium), a 12-oz bottle of beer (Blue Moon Belgian White this time, but will use a darker, more full-bodied brew in the future), and 2 16-oz bags of WestPac frozen veggies - 1-Broccoli Normandy (broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots), 1-Mixed Dinner veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, yellow squash, butter beans, and red bell pepper). I only had a red onion on hand, so I chopped up 1/2 of that (it was pretty big), and sauteed it with sliced pepper jack bratwurst (3 brats) and 3 cloves of fresh minced garlic. I also added black pepper (can't stand white) and had a little oops! with dried parsley, but it was all good-thank goodness this recipe makes a lot, so the parsley just blended right in. I followed the method to the letter, using @ 13 oz cubed Velveeta and 2 cups shredded Mexican blend cheese. Holy YUM! and excellent with some take & bake breadsticks. Mm-mmm... comfort food at its finest! Tasty, pretty (with all those colors), & super-easy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very good! I add only one cup of Veelveta cheese 2 extra cups of chicken broth and an extra cup of milk. I also added a teaspoon of garlic. It came out delicious and it still was nice and thick. It's a keeper!! We had it for dinner and then lunch. Fed 6 adults. I also made homemade bread to dip in. Wow!!! What a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNON91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carneys Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Very good starter recipe. Some very good suggestions: I only used 1/2 a white onion, but added 2 cloves garlic. I also used real cheddar, and a bit of pepperjack cheese, to give it a little pep. A lot of people don't like using real cheese because they think it is grainy, but if you cook it properly, it is just as smooth, and tastes better. When making the rue (after sauteing the onions and garlic), slowly whisk in the flour, to make a smooth rue. Them temper it (aka, slowly add a LITTLE bit of milk at a time) until incorporated. Then cook over a very ow heat for about 15-20 minutes until thick. After you add the milk mixture to the broccoli, take it off the heat and slowly add you cheese, never letting it boil. Super smooth, creamy, and REAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShortCakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
yummy. but didn't use the full amount of Velveeta. just used 1lb, and the results were still amazing! no white pepper added, either. and used a sweet Spanish onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dobermanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Pretty good take on broccoli-cheese soup, but my search is in no way over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilson614

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Very good! My husband and kids loved it!!! I have a new soup the whole family will eat! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I listened to the reviews about switching out some of the Velveeta for Cheddar Cheese (Campbell's Cheddar Soup) and it was delicious. Restaurant quality! I decided to half the recipe based on the reviews and I wished I hadn't only because I love this soup and leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I gave this five stars, because it is such a versatile recipe and it came out perfect! Of course I tweaked mine, but I think it would've come out just fine without tweaking. I did not use Velveeta. I used American Cheese from the deli counter. It's not as salty and not really that much more expensive. It made for an excellent soup. Thank you for the wonderful recipe. Mine tastes just like the famous restaurants out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I also added sauted carrots and some dark beer. This was rich and good. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This recipe was super easy and truly delicious. The kids really loved this recipe and said they now love broccoli. Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States