Broccoli Cheese Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My husband and I love broccoli cheese soup but this was just cheese and more cheese. I made many changes to try to save the meal we were both looking forward to. In the end I had to toss the soup out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Awesome, add heavy cream and fresh broccoli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hayden Denehy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This dish was easy to make and the whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very good and creamy. I used fresh broccoli & a little half & half because I needed to use it. Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Delicious and easy to make. I had access to loads of fresh broccoli a year ago, so I tried this recipe. This is a wonderful fall-winter soup that the entire family can enjoy. This is a favorite and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carneys Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Excellent! This is a quick, easy soup to make and it has just the right consisteny....my kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
As written, this recipe is just ok, good consistency, but it just seemed a little "eh." To make it a bit more authentically "Wisco," and a lot less "eh," I did the following: Used a 32 oz carton of Kitchen Basics chicken stock (lower sodium than Swanson's Low-Sodium), a 12-oz bottle of beer (Blue Moon Belgian White this time, but will use a darker, more full-bodied brew in the future), and 2 16-oz bags of WestPac frozen veggies - 1-Broccoli Normandy (broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots), 1-Mixed Dinner veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, yellow squash, butter beans, and red bell pepper). I only had a red onion on hand, so I chopped up 1/2 of that (it was pretty big), and sauteed it with sliced pepper jack bratwurst (3 brats) and 3 cloves of fresh minced garlic. I also added black pepper (can't stand white) and had a little oops! with dried parsley, but it was all good-thank goodness this recipe makes a lot, so the parsley just blended right in. I followed the method to the letter, using @ 13 oz cubed Velveeta and 2 cups shredded Mexican blend cheese. Holy YUM! and excellent with some take & bake breadsticks. Mm-mmm... comfort food at its finest! Tasty, pretty (with all those colors), & super-easy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very good! I add only one cup of Veelveta cheese 2 extra cups of chicken broth and an extra cup of milk. I also added a teaspoon of garlic. It came out delicious and it still was nice and thick. It's a keeper!! We had it for dinner and then lunch. Fed 6 adults. I also made homemade bread to dip in. Wow!!! What a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNON91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carneys Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Very good starter recipe. Some very good suggestions: I only used 1/2 a white onion, but added 2 cloves garlic. I also used real cheddar, and a bit of pepperjack cheese, to give it a little pep. A lot of people don't like using real cheese because they think it is grainy, but if you cook it properly, it is just as smooth, and tastes better. When making the rue (after sauteing the onions and garlic), slowly whisk in the flour, to make a smooth rue. Them temper it (aka, slowly add a LITTLE bit of milk at a time) until incorporated. Then cook over a very ow heat for about 15-20 minutes until thick. After you add the milk mixture to the broccoli, take it off the heat and slowly add you cheese, never letting it boil. Super smooth, creamy, and REAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShortCakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
yummy. but didn't use the full amount of Velveeta. just used 1lb, and the results were still amazing! no white pepper added, either. and used a sweet Spanish onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dobermanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States