Broccoli Cheese Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is a great basic soup! But I love to tweak the recipe. I cut out the cream cheese & processed cheese. Then put in whipping cream, add shredded SHARP cheddar, as well as black pepper & garlic. My family LOVES it. It is a cold weather staple & never lasts long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Very good soup and easy to prepare. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
great recipe! I didn't have enough of the velveeta so I added grated cheddar. I also microwaved the frozen broccoli. Other than that, I made it exactly as written and it was great -- much bettter than another vegetarian version in a well-known cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Delicious, but extremely rich! Be sure to mix constantly when melting the cheese to prevent scalding!..you have to kind of scratch at the bottom as you mix or else the cheese sticks to the bottom and burns. I also substituted butter for margarine bc I rather not consume transfats if I can avoid it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Awesome. Loved it! I also added extra salt, cayenne pepper, and garlic to suit our tastes. Will definitely make again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ames86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
very easy...very delicious...the only negative might be is that it is a very thick consistency...but oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I loved how easy it was to throw this together quickly. I also added cooked carrots and a dash of pepper to the soup, did not add any margarine. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
My sister called with a request for Christmas Eve dinner. She wanted me to make broccoli cheese soup. I had never made this before. I added chicken boullion to the recipe and some garlic. It was simple and a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rittman, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is the third year in a row we've had this soup on Christmas eve -- at the request of my seven year old. She LOVES it and asks for it on occasion. I think it's a bit rich and I usually add a half to full bottle of beer to it to cut the richness a bit and give it some zing (the alcohol cooks off). Simple, super easy, and kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen, and added chopped red pepper to the red onion. I found that microwaving the broccoli for a few minutes before adding it really makes a difference in the crunchiness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States