Broccoli Cheese Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Easy to make and somewhat healthier than other broccoli cheese soups. Tastes good, and makes lots. If you want a cheesy taste, make sure to use old or extra old cheese or it will just get lost. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I loved this recipe! I love cheese so I used 3 cups instead of 2. I've been looking for a copycat recipe of the one served in a tearoom near by, and this is very similar, but much cheesier, and it makes alot. My husband loved it as well, and he ate many bowls. I thought it would last more than 2 days, but not with my husband. Taste even better the next day. My 3 year old son even liked it to dip his chips in. Awesome soup, Thanks. I will be making this again and for friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
The flavor was OK, but just missing something.. I added about 1/4 tsp of ground mustard and another cup of cheese, which did help, but it still wasn't great. The soup was very, very liquid as well. It was fine for this one time, but I probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I had made another highly rated broccoli cheese soup from this website that was made with imitation cheese. The recipe was really great but I wanted to try a recipe with real cheese. (I'm not a big fan of putting lab created foods into my body) Anyway this recipe is just as great if not better! I did of course make a couple changes, I used frozen broccoli because it was on sale that day, and the last couple minutes while it simmered in the broth I tossed in about a cup of matchstick carrots. Delish! Also, After whisking the milk (I use 1%)and soup together, I then whisked the corn starch into the milk/soup mixture. I never used the 1/2 cup of water as other reviwers suggested there was too much liquid in the soup. I used a finely shredded bag of sharp cheddar (I highly reccomend this flavor!) and it melted beautifully into the soup. A little salt and pepper and voila! This came out perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Great recipe! My family loves this soup. It is a quick and easy recipe to prepare as well as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Great recipe! I made just 1/2 a batch and used sharp cheddar cheese, soooo good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I modified this like many other reviewers. I added 2 extra cups broccoli, one of which I pureed. I added 2 cups cheddar and 1 cup smoked gouda along with some garlic & onion powders. I only had 1 can of cream of chicken and 1 can cream of mushroom. It came out very good; my teenage son asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMR12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I added more cheese and it still wasn't cheesy enough for us, but that's a personal preference. It seemed to be missing something, but I can't quite figure out what. Still a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was really good, however we found it a little on the salty side. I substituted veggie broth for the chicken broth and I will definitely go for the low sodium version next time. Otherwise it was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Turned out very good. I made a mistake and added too much water, so I had a problem with it being too thin, so I added about 1/2 c instant potato flakes and that took care of the problem. Next time I will add more broccoli...because we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States