Broccoli Cheese Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This soup is really delicious, and really simple to make. Everyone in the house loved it. Added extra broccoli, and thickened with potato flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I made this soup with slight changes. I didn't want to mess with the corn starch, so I skipped that and the water. Instead, I put the tender broccoli in the blender. That way my soup is thicker and I won't have my childrne picking out the broccoli. I only had 2 cups chicken broth so I used water and bullion cubes in place of the rest of the chicken broth. I thought the cream of celery soup that is added is much of the flavor. However, I love cream of celery, so all in all I'm happy with this recipe. It is still on the stove...waiting for the rest of the cheese to melt. I may add some instant potato flakes to make it thicker if it seems to thin. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Really simple and delicious. The second time I made this, I used three (14oz) cans of broth and omitted the water. I combined 1/2 C milk with the cornstarch in a stand mixer, and then mixed in the rest of the milk and the cream of celery. I used a little more than 2 C of shredded Tillamook medium cheddar cheese. I served the soup with fresh cracked pepper and ciabatta rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I did add some onion to some butter before I added the broccoli. I also took most of the broccoli out and blended it up, because I don't like so many chunks. I also added some potato flakes instead of the cornstartch/water combo. This was very tasty and I think I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is a great comfort-food soup....thick and cheesy and super tasty! Followed recipe except used 4 cans of less sodium broth, added approx 2 c. cauliflower to the 4 c. broccoli just so it wouldn't go to waste, no water or cornstarch but used potato flakes to thicken and sharp cheddar. This will definitely be served again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orient, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was very good. I did not add the extra water. Just added the cornstarch to the soup/milk mixture. I also added some sliced carrots. It could use a little kick. Next time I might add a few sliced red peppers. I made this a second time and didn't have cream of celery, so used cream of chicken soup instead. I did not at all like it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I used my homemade broth as a base and I'm just realizing now as I review this recipe that I used too much! So, I ended up with a very dilute final product and had to back peddle to fix it. I think this is a good recipe. I think it could be better with the addition of some shredded carrot and use fat free half and half for the milk. Even better, would be to make your own "cheese sauce" with a roux base. And mix this into the broccoli (and carrot) simmered in broth. Hot sauce is a must. We dipped sandwiches in it. A good basic recipe, needs a little work to make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was great! I used vegetable stock instead of broth for my vegetarian friend and brought it to work for a soup potluck---it was a huge hit! I doubled the cheese and thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was really yummy! My family loved this! I replaced 1 cup of the milk with cream and used instant mashed potatoes to thicken it up instead of cornstarch. Next time I might add some shredded carrots just to have a little more veggies, but it was perfect without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I had to alter it a little but the resultd were AMAZING!!! ok, I added shredded carrots, chopped onion and cubed ham. Then, had only one can of cream of celery, so used that and a can of cream of potato. Then nixxed corn starch and water. Used nonfat milk. Four cheese blend = really yummy! If it is too watery for you, you can add some mash potato mix to thicken to your liking! Happy cooking! Thanks for the WONDERFUL recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissHoneyBelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States