Broccoli Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
My husband and friends love it! I used low fat half & half and cut back on the salt. A great side dish for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Fugate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made this for my church small group, and it was a hit! My husband went back for seconds, and everyone was commenting on how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
The filling is delicious but it's really the cheddar cheese crust that makes this recipe something special. I'm always on the search for really enjoyable meatless dishes and will be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This was surprisingly good. I wasn't sure how it would turn out. The only difference I made was to use Swiss cheese instead of cheddar, only because that's what was here. I will try it with cheddar as well, and I'm sure it will be good then too. The crust is different and delicious, and I think I might increase the crust ingredients next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very flavorful and it set up perfectly. The crust was a little salty, so I would cut that by half. I'm glad I cut the salt for the filling by half or I think it would have been too salty, too. The color was grayish, like a couple of other reviewers said. But that could be because I used evaporated milk instead of half and half. My only quibble would be with the stated prep time: it took at least a half hour with all the steps involved. I did cut the baking time to a total of 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I loved this recipe, it was actually better the second day at room temperature. I used frozen broccoli that I nuked to thaw and then allowed it to drain in a colander to drain while I prepared the crust. I also added shredded sharp cheese in the last 5 minutes of baking to add an extra cheesy kick (I love cheese!) and it was awesome!! I would definitely make this for a potluck since it does so well at room temperature. For a potluck, i would make it in a square pan for easy to grab and go pieces. I also omitted the mushrooms (yucky!) and increased the onions. I also used half pepper jack and half sharp cheddar to add just a hint of a kick, next time I will use only pepper jack, the kick was not there enough for me. Also, the next time I make it, I will put crumbled bacon on top of the shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tdewaters
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I made this recipe and tweaked it for items I had at home. I used low sodium turkey bacon that was cooked and crumbled; I added it the same time as the broccoli. I did not have half and half or fresh broccoli so I used 3/4 cup 2% milk and frozen broccoli florets; it turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I used 1/2 times more ingredients for the crust to make more in a bigger baking dish and added 1 extra egg, 1/2 cup Colby and cooked sausage to the egg mixture. Awesome Brunch with different flavored Teas hot and cold and a Fruit Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Followed the recipe with the minor changes from the AR Magazine. First of all, the photo of the dish was very different. The finished product was an unpleasing grayish color. No way to get it to look like that without doing the following extra steps: after finishing as per recipe cover with layer of cheese, layer of broccoli, layer of mushrooms, and layer of onions. Now for the taste.... I was disappointed. It wasn't bad, but wasn't very good. Just kind of bland. Basically, not something you would want to eat, but if made your not going to go hungry. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Fabulous! Easy and Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States