Broccoli Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I've made this a few times and it's a family favorite. It tastes sooo good. I modified the recipe only slightly. For the crust I used 1/4 tsp. salt instead of 1/2 tsp. I thought it was too salty. Also for the filling, I substituted light cream for the half-and-half, and added a dash of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Excellent base recipe. I made a few modifications and this came out superb! First off, instead of steaming the broccoli in a steamer, I added it to a saute pan with a little bit of water (maybe a 1/2 cup) a tablespoon of butter and some minced garlic. When I sauteed the mushrooms, I added a little bit of fresh spinach (about 2 cups/handfuls). I also added a few pinches of Marjoram, Basil, Thyme, and parsley paste (in substitute for fresh parsley). Instead of putting the dry mustard in the dough, I added it to the cream mixture since I bought a pre-made crust. When it came time to add the egg, I added one extra to equal four. Turned out fantastic! One of the best recipes I've used from this site in a while! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I have been making this exact recipe for years. I only looked it up because I had lost it. You can change this up in lots of ways by adding different spices and cheeses, vegetables and meats like ham, proscuitto or prepared bacon. As another reviewer said, it needs a bit more salt when made without any of the meats I listed above. Overall, this is a family favorite. I recommend that you increase the ingredients for the crust by about 20% or so to make sure you have enough to fully cover the sides and the bottom of your pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was a yummy way to use the broccoli from my garden and the eggs from my sister's chickens! I do agree, however, that the crust seemed salty -- I will reduce it by half the next time I make it. But overall, it was really good and different from just a plain old quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Absolutely delicious and for the underweight of us, provides a nice, fattening vegetable serving or two! About 400 calories per 1/2 pie the way I calculated it. I added a bit more butter to the softened mushrooms and onion before adding the flour, half and half, etc. I also cut the salt a bit in both parts of the recipe and added only a dash of nutmeg and mustard. I substituted cheddar jack for the cheddar, which was great. I found that flouring the hands when pressing the cheese mixture into the pie pan worked very well. Thanks again for this great recipe. I can't wait to share it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was good and my husband liked it. I didn't have chedder, substituted colby-jack instead. The crust didn't taste real cheesy but very rich. I cooked the onions in the microwave to reduce dirty dishes. I did not add mushrooms -my husband dislikes- but added the last of some turkey bacon. I also added 2% milk instead of cream which was fine. Could have used a touch more salt or seasoning in the eggs. I will make this again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Agy
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I lessened the salt in both areas by just a bit and thought it was perfect. I used maybe 1/4 onion but added more broccoli. I agree with another reviewer about adding 20% more to the crust ingredients. My crust ended up really thin, which wasn't bad, just would have preferred slightly thicker. I loved the nutmeg in this recipe. I accidentally put in over 1/4 teaspoon, and I don't recommend doing that as the nutmeg was more obvious than it should've been. I also only put in 3/4 cup of half & half as that is all I had, but the moisture content was not affected. This is a very simple recipe that allows you time to do the crust while the mushrooms & onions are sauteing. I highly recommend this and will most definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was DELISH!! I followed the recipe exactly except I made the crust with crumbled Ritz crackers and butter & I used sharp cheese instead of cheddar. I'll definitely make this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicago Chic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
i added mrs dash,garlic powder,hot mustard,garlic cloves,flax seed,mozzarella cheese,chedder cheese. i put more cheese on top and sprinkled bread crumbs on it too. i didnt have half and half so i used canned milk. i doubled recipe i have 8 children and a hubby i made three pies one has spinach added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I made this exact recipe tonight from your new All Recipes magazine. My husband and I were very disappointed as it was rather dry and tasteless. Even the finished recipe did NOT look like the photo in the magazine! Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States