Broccoli Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This was really good! The crust was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Loved the easy crust. I dont feel like making pie crust in the morning ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I've made this a few times and it's a family favorite. It tastes sooo good. I modified the recipe only slightly. For the crust I used 1/4 tsp. salt instead of 1/2 tsp. I thought it was too salty. Also for the filling, I substituted light cream for the half-and-half, and added a dash of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was so good! The crust was a little salty but that's easy to fix. Put a little tobasco on it... wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I have been making this exact recipe for years. I only looked it up because I had lost it. You can change this up in lots of ways by adding different spices and cheeses, vegetables and meats like ham, proscuitto or prepared bacon. As another reviewer said, it needs a bit more salt when made without any of the meats I listed above. Overall, this is a family favorite. I recommend that you increase the ingredients for the crust by about 20% or so to make sure you have enough to fully cover the sides and the bottom of your pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was great. I made it two weeks ago and my husband is asking for it again. The cheese in the crust is just great!! We used an extra sharp cheddar from England. I served this with barbecue pork steaks, a St. Louis tradition, and a salad. I also enjoyed it for lunch for a couple of days at work with carrot chips and ranch dressing. thanks again, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Absolutely delicious and for the underweight of us, provides a nice, fattening vegetable serving or two! About 400 calories per 1/2 pie the way I calculated it. I added a bit more butter to the softened mushrooms and onion before adding the flour, half and half, etc. I also cut the salt a bit in both parts of the recipe and added only a dash of nutmeg and mustard. I substituted cheddar jack for the cheddar, which was great. I found that flouring the hands when pressing the cheese mixture into the pie pan worked very well. Thanks again for this great recipe. I can't wait to share it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
i added mrs dash,garlic powder,hot mustard,garlic cloves,flax seed,mozzarella cheese,chedder cheese. i put more cheese on top and sprinkled bread crumbs on it too. i didnt have half and half so i used canned milk. i doubled recipe i have 8 children and a hubby i made three pies one has spinach added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Agy
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I lessened the salt in both areas by just a bit and thought it was perfect. I used maybe 1/4 onion but added more broccoli. I agree with another reviewer about adding 20% more to the crust ingredients. My crust ended up really thin, which wasn't bad, just would have preferred slightly thicker. I loved the nutmeg in this recipe. I accidentally put in over 1/4 teaspoon, and I don't recommend doing that as the nutmeg was more obvious than it should've been. I also only put in 3/4 cup of half & half as that is all I had, but the moisture content was not affected. This is a very simple recipe that allows you time to do the crust while the mushrooms & onions are sauteing. I highly recommend this and will most definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Excellent base recipe. I made a few modifications and this came out superb! First off, instead of steaming the broccoli in a steamer, I added it to a saute pan with a little bit of water (maybe a 1/2 cup) a tablespoon of butter and some minced garlic. When I sauteed the mushrooms, I added a little bit of fresh spinach (about 2 cups/handfuls). I also added a few pinches of Marjoram, Basil, Thyme, and parsley paste (in substitute for fresh parsley). Instead of putting the dry mustard in the dough, I added it to the cream mixture since I bought a pre-made crust. When it came time to add the egg, I added one extra to equal four. Turned out fantastic! One of the best recipes I've used from this site in a while! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States