Broccoli Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Just made this for a Christmas gathering. It is great, but I made some changes to the original recipe so I only rated 4 stars as written. I did add some cheese cracker crumbs to top, as suggested by others, which was great. I didn't add chestnuts or almonds. I don't understand why the instructions are so complex on how to cook broccoli. Just steam for 10 minutes and drain. What I didn't understand was reviews that said "dry". I can imagine the one review that said "mushy mess" though. I only used 1 can soup (instead of 2) and a jar of con queso cheese sauce (the kind for dipping nacho chips). It was great this way. Very tasty and creamy enough to keep moist even as left overs. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
We loved this! I used long grain white rice and it was a little dry but GREAT tasting. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
As is, 4 stars. With one reviewer`s suggestion to fry up some cheese cracker crumbs as topping, + another's suggestion to add milk (it's kinda dry unless you cream it up a bit), it's 5 stars, the kids loved it. Of course I also added some seasoning: garlic powder, worcester sauce and a drop of white wine to the cheese-soup mix, and parsley and paprika to the crumb topping. Will make again and again, I'm sure, cause it's easy! Thanks Paula for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I really liked this and so did the kids, my wife hated it tho, she took one bite and spit it out. But she prefers plain white rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great recipe, I omitted the chestnuts and used crushed Ritz crackers instead of almonds to top it off. It was a hit that I will definitely be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Yummo! I always leave out the slivered almonds. My husband requests this yearly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I'm rating this lowly because I found it to be a mushy mess without any flavor. There was crunch here and there with the water chestnuts and almonds but overall it felt very uninspired. It's definitely a simple recipe and I can see where picky kids would like it. I would maybe make it again on a night I don't feel like cooking but have to eat something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Made this for an Easter dinner--requested by our daughter. I used only one can mushroom soup and 3 cups cooked rice. Left out water chestnuts. It was delicious. Topped with the buttery cracker-butter mixture, as suggested by a reviewed, which was a great contrast to the texture of the rice-broccoli-soup combination. Just used a rolling pin to crush the crackers right in the sleeve. Worked great. Will definitely make this again. Could even add a little more broccoli, as it wasn't very dominant in the flavor of the casserole. But overall, this was scrumptious. (How do you spell that anyway? Hope that's right.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Awesome! I switched the processed cheese sauce for my own homemade cheese sauce and it was amazing. My boyfriend (who is not vegetarian) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Very disappointed in this recipe. I was hoping it would be a scrumptous as the Broccoli Cheese casserole served at Cheddars with the added crunch from the water chestnuts. It turned out dry and tasteless so now Im trying to rescue it by adding more rice and more cheese and some milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States