Broccoli Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I love this recipe!! I have made probably 15-20 times, I usually use fresh broccoli that I steam for about 5-10 min. (just a personal preference), and increase the rice to 1c. (which I cook in Chicken Stock instead of water, again personal preference) I prefer Cheze wiz over velvetta for this recipe, but have also used tostidos cheese sauce in a pinch, (it gives it a little zippier flavor) We love this as a side dish with chicken or pork chops, definately a keeper and in regular rotation in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlevoix, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
DELICIOUS!!! Made exactly according to recipe EXCEPT I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and doubled the rice to one full cup in 2 cups of water....it was absolutely perfect!!!! Not too dry..not too wet...just PERFECT!! Thank you for the new addition to my side dish collection! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allrecipefan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Kings Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Coming from a large family, we divide up the cooking when we all get together. I was assigned a vegetable to bring to Thanksgiving dinner, and decided to try this one. Everyone loved it!!! Even my wife, who normally doesn't like broccoli, cheese, onions or rice! She wants me to make some more. Mods: used 1 cup rice, used 3/4 of a medium onion, cooked rice in chicken broth, used 1/2 can cream of chicken & 1/2 can cream of mushroom, used a whole bag (16 oz, I think) of frozen cut broccoli. Great recipe!! Thanks to the poster and to the reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I fixed this for Christmas dinner because I had a broccolli rice casserole lover coming. It must of been pretty good because she kept asking me what where the different tastes she was getting. I heard her tell someone on the phone that I made some kick butt broccolli rice casserole. I really liked the bacon and we love onion but I did cut it back by half after reading the review's and I did add a little more rice but will not next time.I like more of a creamier taste than dry. Thanks so much for a really nice switch up taste on this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa L. Gab.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I agree with a couple of the other reviews: this needs less onion and could use more rice to make it firmer and less soupy. I will try it again that way. The taste is good, the bacon is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This recipe is a great base and very forgiving. I used a whole pkg of 10-minute brown rice; most but not all pkg of frozen chopped broccoli, and added 2 tbsp Creole Seasoning from this site, 1 tbsp minced garlic, and 1 tsp seasoned salt. This spiffed up what some called a bland dish. Instead of processed cheese, I used a 10 oz can of Cheddar Cheese soup and 1/2 cup milk. I sprinkled 3 handfuls of white cheddar cheese crackers on top and baked. Kids, ages 10 and 8, gobbled it up, and hubby had seconds. We finished the 9x13 pan in two nights! Thanks for the post; this is going in my Keeper file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Perfect...Just consider adding the 1 sleeve of ritz crackers crushed with 1/2 cup melted butter placed on top just before going into oven!! That's how it's done at Cheddar's Resturant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnsboro, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I made this to bring to Thanksgiving dinner and everyone who ate it actually requested I make it for Christmas dinner too. Both times it was gone and everyone, even the kids, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This recipe is really great! I'm sure it would've been wonderful had I followed the recipe exactly, but I did make a couple of changes based on what I had. I used minute rice instead of long grain rice and I doubled it to 1 cup. I just cooked it in the microwave (add 1 cup water and 1 cup rice and heat for 5 min.) I only used half an onion and instead of the jar of processed cheese sauce I used a can of Campbell's cheddar cheese soup. (I think Velveeta would've been great too.)I also added a handful of shredded cheese. (Colby and Montery Jack I think.) IT was so tasty, my husband said I "hit a home run". I roasted a chicken and had this casserole as a side dish. Because we then had leftovers, I shredded the remaining chicken I had roasted and added it to the broccoli casserole leftovers, added another handful of shredded cheese and mixed it all up. I put French Fried onions on top and baked it and it was like a whole new meal! I'll definately keep this recipe around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
With this recipe we were able to get my little brother who is a picky eater to eat broccoli and potatoes! It has a great taste. I substituted the rice for cubed cut potatoes and used 16 oz of shredded cheddar instead of processed cheese and it was a real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsmbrluv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States