Broccoli Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
very yummy! I used two fresh heads of broccoli, shreddred cheese and did not add the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivienne

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
My step mother used to make this for me when I was a picky teenager. I've wanted to make it but I kept forgetting to ask her for the recipe. I did have to add A LOT more rice about 1 1/4 cups (dry) more to get it to the casserole consistency I was used to and well as doubling the broccoli. The bacon was a neat idea but its not an addition that has to be added to make this super yummy. It went over well at the christmas table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
if you love cheese...you will love this recipe. i did as others suggested and doubled the rice..the consistency was perfect, not runny at all. I made this for my husbands office party and everyone raved and even sent text messages telling me how delicious it was. I also made it for Thanksgiving and the chef in our family requested this recipe. Great for any holiday or a simple dinner. Don't worry bout using the processed cheese sauce ...not cheese whizzy at all. I used the generic W*lMart brand and this could not have been better. Be careful not to overcook the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houstongal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I made this Thanksgiving and my oldest son said it was his favorite dish out of everything. Looks like this will be a new traditional dish at our holiday dinners. Thanks for a great recipe! UPDATE: My Aunt Wanda recently told me that this is officially my "signature dish" and can't wait for the holiday season to indulge. Again, thank you for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
After putting this recipe together, it seemed a bit too runny and a tad bland, so before cooking it I added the rest of the 32oz package of broccoli, a cup or more of shredded cheddar cheese, a bit more salt and some crushed garlic. Thank you so much, it's a good recipe and tweeking it to your own personal preference makes it fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This recipe is a great base and very forgiving. I used a whole pkg of 10-minute brown rice; most but not all pkg of frozen chopped broccoli, and added 2 tbsp Creole Seasoning from this site, 1 tbsp minced garlic, and 1 tsp seasoned salt. This spiffed up what some called a bland dish. Instead of processed cheese, I used a 10 oz can of Cheddar Cheese soup and 1/2 cup milk. I sprinkled 3 handfuls of white cheddar cheese crackers on top and baked. Kids, ages 10 and 8, gobbled it up, and hubby had seconds. We finished the 9x13 pan in two nights! Thanks for the post; this is going in my Keeper file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
First time making this. Simply Awesome. I went with the advice from other reviews and doubled the rice and added a little more bacon. It turned out better then I expected. I hate broccoli but this was amazing. Will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This casserole has always been a must at our holiday dinners...it's my dad's favorite. This is the best recipe that I have found that tastes close to my grandmother's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Keri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Although not my favourite, the 3 males of the family loved this. The dish is completely empty and I only had a small serving! Very "Cheese Whizzy" but as it calls for that type of cheese I shouldn't have been surprised. I used a full cup of rice rather than the 1/2 called for and the consistancy seemed right. I used fresh broccoli which I steamed till fork tender as I prefer that rather than frozen. The bacon and onion flavour was good. For sure I will make this again as it was really appreciated. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Very good. I used 2 cups chicken broth, 1 cup rice and only 1/2 of medium onion. I also drained off most of the bacon grease after sauteing the onion. Perfect consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States