Broccoli Cheese Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I didn't care for this recipe. I would never try this again. The clean up is the worst and the balls fell apart... it was somewhat tasty but it was a total mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I would like to customize this recipe but am unable to because I'm not a member. I thought I'd add some suggestions as it seems some tips/alterations would make this recipe a success. If keeping the ingredients the same it is very important you let the broccoli/cheese mixture 'set' for atleast 15 minutes. I do not however suggest using breadcrumbs as I think a wet batter or wonton wrapper would work MUCH better. You will find it will no longer fall apart when frying them. I hope everyone reads this review before attempting it as is and being very disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Good recipe but missing a step or 2. You guys need to make sure you freeze the bites for at least an hour before deep frying or else they will melt, I also eggwashed/breadcrumbed them after freezing since they didnt seem coated well enough. otherwise was fantastic with bacon bits added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I have no idea why I didn't read the reviews before trying this. They made a mess, and no one wanted to ever eat broccoli again at my house. Maybe this recipe was missing a step or needed different ingredients because it had so many things wrong with it, I'm not sure where to start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Good taste but sure messed up my deep fryer, what a mess. Clean-up twice the work as preperation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
tastes good, but they fall apart big time in oil. i think the oil is way too hot or something is lacking in the recipe to hold them together better. had 1 that tried to stay together. NOW I READ THE REVIEWS! DUH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Despite all of the bad reviews about this recipe, I tried it anyways. I used Velveta cheese with bacon bits mixed in instead of plain cheddar thinking that would melt and form better. I dipped the floret's in the cheese one-by-one, and put them on waxed paper to cool a bit and congeal before rolling them in the bread crumbs. They looked great before they went into the oil. They eneded up being a disaster! The cheese all but burned, they all ended up clumped together, even though I only had them in the fryer a mere 3 minutes, the bread crumb/cheese mixture ended up being the color of oreos. Huge waste of time and money, next time I'll just buy the convenient pre-made ones in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I hate to say it, but this recipe was awful. Once I put these in the hot oil, they fell apart. The bread crumbs became separated from the broccoli balls, and turned into clumps of fried crumbs. Everything else just turned into an oily mass of cheese. There is nothing holding these things together. Don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This recipe wasn't awful but it wasn't great. I made it twice, once following the recipe exactly and the second time I substituted fresh broccoli in place of the frozen broccoli. The second time around it was crispy and tasty. The frozen broccoli lacks flavor and leaves you with soft blobs of battered broccoli. The fresh broccoli works much much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
this recipe was terrible. i would never try this recipe again. i wish i would have read the reviews before i tried it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dale City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States